Three More 'Miss Peregrine's' Books Are Coming!

Three new Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children books are being released, beginning next year, Penguin Young Readers announced on Thursday. The new story arc will take place in America and follow the continuing adventures of Jacob Portman, Miss Peregrine, and the peculiar children. The first in the new books will be released in Fall 2017.

Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs was first published in 2011. The book follows the adventure of Jacob Portman, a Florida teenager who travels to Wales to unpack the secrets of his grandfather's mysterious death. When he arrives, he encounters the Peculiars, a group of children with supernatural powers who live in a "loop" that protects them from dangerous monsters called "hollows." The book spent more than 100 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list, peaking at #1. The success of Miss Peregrine's prompted two sequels — Hollow City in 2014 and Library of Souls in 2015 — and a companion book, Tales of the Peculiar , which was released in 2016. A movie adaptation, directed by Tim Burton and starring Asa Butterfield, Eva Green, and Samuel L. Jackson, also hit theaters this year.

So it's safe to say it's been a pretty big year for Ransom Riggs.

"The first three novels introduce the peculiars and their world, but peculiardom is vast, its history is long, and there's so much left to discover," he says in press release. "I can't wait to delve deeper, and to bring the story to America — which, as it turns out, is a much more peculiar place than anyone realized!"

Images: 20th Century Fox