Alex Weiss is a writer, editor, and all around literary nerd. She's a Minnesotan at heart, but currently resides in Chicago living in an old speakeasy. She can usually be found at the planetarium obsessing over astronomy facts, or exploring the city with a good book in hand.

Latest Articles

Harry Potter Products You Didn't Even Know Existed

With so many new, unusual, and strangely unique Harry Potter products popping up every other day, it's hard to think that any Potterhead at this point doesn't own (or at least know of and want to own)...
By Alex Weiss

16 Perfect Gifts For Writers

The holidays are finally here — which means endless viewing nights of Elf and a whole lot of shopping for your loved ones. Whether you braved the storm of crowded people during Black Friday or wait to...
By Alex Weiss

7 Jane Austen Candles To Gift This Holiday Season

Looking for the perfect holiday gift for the book nerd in your life? Don't fret because there's tons of amazing presents to gift from Etsy, especially for the Jane Austen lover. Candles are the perfec...
By Alex Weiss

The Perfect Places To Read In Autumn

For book lovers, there simply isn't a better season than fall. Why, you ask? Well, for one thing, weather is optimal reading temperature, perfect for reading outdoors and even indoors near an open win...
By Alex Weiss

20 Charming Accessories For Book Lovers

Books come in all different shapes, sizes and are full of wonderful and exciting stories, as are their readers. As a book-lover myself, I like to find new ways to show off my love for books as often a...
By Alex Weiss

15 Haruki Murakami Quotes On Love

Haruki Murakami, the multiple award-winning author and praised as one of the worlds greatest living novelists is once again in the spotlight. The 2016 Nobel prize in literature is one Murakami has bee...
By Alex Weiss

17 Literary Quotes On Falling In Love

The magical feeling of falling in love with another person is difficult to describe because it's different for everyone, every time. But it always seems like books have a knack for explaining giant, i...
By Alex Weiss

11 Romance Novels For Your Book Club

Let's be honest, picking a book for your book club is a daunting task. You want to please everyone with your book choice, or at least make it a fun experience, but with so many different preferences a...
By Alex Weiss

6 Literary Halloween Costumes For Couples

Couples who read together, stay together. And couples who dress up for Halloween together, look amazing together. Whether you already have a few Halloween parties or events you're planning on going to...
By Alex Weiss

How Romance Novels Will Help With Online Dating

The world of online dating is sometimes strange, sometimes wonderful, always tricky. As a book-lover, I'm just trying to figure out how reading romance novels can help my online dating game.  My book-...
By Alex Weiss

22 Of The Best Baby-Sitters Club Quotes

This August is the 30th anniversary of The Baby-Sitters Club. While this anniversary makes me feel a little bit older than I'd like, I'm much more excited about celebrating the
By Alex Weiss

12 Fun Ways To Spend National Book Lovers Day

The best day of the year is finally here: August 9, aka, National Book Lovers Day! To be completely honest, this is probably the best holiday of the year. It's a full day dedicated to celebrating your...
By Alex Weiss

10 Places To Stay For National Book Lovers Day

There are plenty of ways to celebrate National Book Lovers Day this year, including treating yourself to a book-themed vacation you'll never forget. With the help of Home To Go and their endless optio...
By Alex Weiss

8 Hilarious Books For New Parents

New moms and dads hardly have time to take a quick nap, check their phones, or even eat — let alone read a book for new parents. For book-loving parents, it can be a rough time when you realize your T...
By Alex Weiss

13 Creepy Book Covers To Keep You Up At Night

Horror books are meant to scare you, and sometimes that fear begins before you even open up the book. For fans of Stephen King, R.L. Stine, and Kendra Blake — you know what a scary book cover looks li...
By Alex Weiss

The Famous Last Words From 'Looking for Alaska'

There are a thousand reasons why so many readers adore John Green's first novel, Looking for Alaska. The first time I read it, I wasn't prepared for the emotional whirlwind, and frankly, I'm not sure ...
By Alex Weiss

Books You HAD To Get At The Scholastic Book Fair

When the Scholastic Book Fair visited your elementary school, it was hands down the best week of the year. Your library transformed into a beautiful display of all the newest books you never knew you ...
By Alex Weiss

Struggles Every Book-Lover Faces In The Summer

Summer days full of beach waves and bookmarks are my favorite type of days, but as glorious as it sounds, it often comes with a set of struggles. Granted, most struggles us book nerds face in a lifeti...
By Alex Weiss

What Your Favorite '90s Book Says About You

As a 90s kid, you probably grew up reading books with characters who spent a lot of time on their landline phones, or ones that time traveled or went to an unbelievable school. You had an array of opt...
By Alex Weiss

12 Books That Encouraged Me To Travel

I can't remember the exact date or time, the place I was in, or what I was doing when I decided I would be a traveler. What I do remember is reading certain books and putting them down for a brief mom...
By Alex Weiss