Books

The Book Every Trans Ally Needs To Read — EXCERPT

On Wednesday, Donald Trump's administration withdrew federal guidelines to public schools which allowed transgender students to use bathrooms that correspond with their gender identity. This is a decision that could prove to be life-threatening for trans people, who — in addition to being at increased risk of hate crimes — are 10 times more likely to attempt suicide than the general public. Trans youth face more harassment, violence, and discrimination than their cisgender classmates, and respe…

By Cristina Arreola

11 Unexpected Feminist Protagonists From Classics

So much of what we consume, particularly fiction, is imbued with our own stories. That's the beauty of literature - it's a symbiotic relationship between writer and reader, between storyteller and listener. One of the best ways to gauge how much you've grown is to re-read a book, whether it's an old favorite or a high school reading assignment. Who knows, you might find some unexpected feminist protagonists hiding out in the classics. Growing up, I read extensively, but rarely dug deeper than t…

By Maddy Foley

Bustle's Editors On Trans Youth + How To Help

Can you believe it's already Feb. 23?! The month will be over at the start of next week, and once March hits, it's basically spring. The technical start of the new season is Monday, Mar. 20, so while we still have a few weeks until the official change, we can all break out the sunglasses and start planning those rooftop happy hours in anticipation... But alas, we're not there yet. It's still February, and it's been one crazy, news-filled month. Check out a recap of the news and events that had B…

By Rachel Simon

What To Read Next, Based On The TV Shows You Miss

We all know how hard it can be when our favorite TV shows go off the air. No matter how many seasons we got to watch, we still miss looking forward to new episodes every week. And when we discover that our favorite shows have been off the air for ten years, like we learned about The OC finale this week? The emotions start to get real. It's crazy how close characters and stories can continue to feel in our lives, even when they've been gone for a decade. Can you believe you haven't watched a new …

By Kerri Jarema

22 Times Rainbow Shelves Were #BookshelfGoals

There's a huge trend going around in the bookosphere — and it is serious #bookshelfgoals. You know what I'm talking about: pretty rainbow bookshelves are the best way to organize your precious collection. Take it from the bookstagrammers: you won't get anything prettier than that. We all have different ways to organize our books. Some of us do it by height, or by genre, or in alphabetical order. Sure, that might be the most practical way to store books — but it's certainly not the most beautiful…

By Emma Oulton

Ancient Egyptian Stories Are Coming Your Way Soon

When you think of Egyptian hieroglyphics, you probably think of looking at them — you've probably seen them used as decoration on wallpaper, vases, or even iPhone cases. What you probably don't think of is reading them — because until now, writings from Ancient Egypt have only really been decipherable to the elite scholarly few. But this year, for the first time, a bunch of Egyptian stories that cover the walls of ancient tombs and monuments have been translated into English for the general publ…

By Emma Oulton

11 Good Books With Deeply Disappointing Endings

We all know the feeling: you make it through 300 pages of enthralling, creative fiction — only to the turn the very last page, and find yourself exclaiming, "That's it?!" Good books with disappointing endings are a very real danger. One could be hiding on your bookshelf right now. It goes without saying that spoilers abound in this list. If you'd rather not know that the book you're currently holding has a terrible ending — and would prefer to crash headfirst into the terrible disappointment of …

By Emma Oulton

Diversity In Carnegie Awards Is Missing — Again

In what can unfortunately be filed under "Not that surprising," the Carnegie Medal's 2017 longlist exclusively highlights white writers. This year, though, British artists are fighting back, calling for a boycott of the UK's oldest and most prestigious award for Young Adult and children's literature. In its 80-year run, neither the Carnegie Medal, nor its companion award, the Kate Greenaway medal for distinguished illustration, have been awarded to a writer of color. Sure, some of have been lon…

By Maddy Foley

This Kid-Lit Book Has A Powerful Punk Rock Message

It's a truth of all serious book worms: sometimes we just can't resist reading books that are written for people... slightly... younger than us, a.k.a middle grade books. Especially when that book is a novel about a 12-year-old Latina girl who causes anarchy at her middle school when she forms a punk band. How much do you wish that were that kickass in middle school, am I right? Celia C. Pérez's debut novel, The First Rule of Punk, is perfect for fans of Victoria Jameson's much celebrated Roller…

By Kerri Jarema

5 Kids' Books About Trans Issues To Read Right Now

Another day in Trump's America, another horrifying law. Yesterday it was announced that Trump would be reversing transgender protections from the Obama administration, most notably removing protections for transgender students in public schools that let them use bathrooms and facilities corresponding with their gender identity. We don't have to tell you why this is a very scary turn of events for trans kids and teens. Being asked to use a restroom of the opposite gender would be an uncomfortable…

By Kerri Jarema