Can You Make Someone Unfollow You on Instagram Without Them Knowing? This Hack Is Life-Changing

Share

The whole follow/unfollow etiquette on Instagram can be a but of a touchy issue. While there are a lot of fair and justified reasons to cut social media ties with someone, things can get complicated if you want someone to unfollow you, but you don't want to block them or ask them to unfollow you. However, there is actually a little-known hack that allows you to make someone unfollow you on Instagram — without them noticing or blocking them.

There are a myriad of reasons someone may want to connect with someone, from safety-related to fading friendship-related, and they're all absolutely valid. But, if someone is already following you, you don't exactly have the clear option to remove them from your followers list, whether your account is public or private — all it seems you're able to do is block them. Of course, blocking a user doesn't send them an alert, but if they were to look at your page, they'd clearly see that they'd been blocked. Not everyone may want to risk that happening, because, understandably, it's an awkward social situation to find yourself in.

So, what do you do when you want to have some control over who follows you, but don't want to be drastic and blocking someone? Luckily, there's a hack — and it's so easy, you'll probably be shocked you didn't know about it before. But trust me: It's real, and it works. In three simple steps, here's how to make someone unfollow you on Instagram without blocking them or risking them noticing.

Locate The Account

Instagram

Find the person you want to cut ties with under your followers tab. Double check to make sure you have the right name selected to avoid anything awkward, of course — the last thing you want is to text your bestie that you accidentally forced their Instagram account to unfollow yours!

Once you've found the account you'd like to make unfollow yours, head to their page.

Block Them... For Now

Instagram

I know I said that they wouldn't be blocked — and I didn't lie! This block is only for a few seconds, and the likelihood that they'll notice is extremely low. By blocking them, even for a mere second, Instagram will automatically force their account to unfollow you — they won't be alerted, and their account will be unable to see yours.

Now, for this hack to work, it's very important you don't skip the next step...

Now, Unblock Them

Instagram

So, the user you wanted to unfollow your account on Instagram is now blocked. You've checked your followers list, and they're definitely no longer following you. Now what?

Head back to the user's page and unblock them. This is how the hack works: Once the user is unblocked, their account won't automatically follow you again — so, you'll have forced an unfollow, but there will be no evidence that you've done so because they won't be blocked. If the user in question happens to look at your account, it'll look normal — if you're public, they'll see your posts, and if you're private, they'll see that too. They'll also see that they have the option to follow you or request to follow you, depending on whether your account is public or private, so they'll probably just think that they accidentally unfollowed you.

Of course, best case scenario they won't ever notice you removed them as a follower and you'll simply go your own ways without ever having to have an awkward confrontation about it. Easy peasy. If they do notice and try to follow you, you can utilize this hack as many times as you feel you want to — and when in doubt, you can always make your account private so that it's harder for people to re-follow you.