Books

The Best New Books Out The Week Of July 13

From Big Friendship to Age of Consent.

A helpful guide on how to maintain friendships, as well as a crime thriller with a surprisingly pet friendly twist, land in stores this week.

We only include products that have been independently selected by Bustle's editorial team. However, we may receive a portion of sales if you purchase a product through a link in this article.

Two prep-school loners without much else in common fall into a deep and all-consuming friendship which culminates with them spending the summer of 1983 in New York City, in this coming-of-age debut.

$26
See On Amazon

Saumya Dave's debut novel takes a look at the lives and relationships of three women — Mimi, her daughter Nandini, and Nandini's daughter Simran — as they grapple with the societal expectations affecting their destinies.

$16
See On Amazon

Kate Greene's memoir focuses on the four months she spent as one of six researchers and test subjects in NASA's HI-SEAS habitat, which simulates life on Mars in an isolated spot on Mauna Loa.

$27.99
See On Amazon

Years after they hunted elk on land reserved for their tribal elders, four men find themselves hunted by a vengeful spirit that they can't kill, in this chilling and timely horror novel.

$26.99
See On Amazon

The third installment of Mary Robinette Kowal's Lady Astronaut series takes readers into the near future, centering on two spacefaring women working to establish a lunar colony as the Earth reckons with a major climate disaster.

$30.99
See On Amazon

After accidentally trashing his one-time paramour's bakery in a viral review, Landon wants to make things right by saving Aubrey a spot on his new cooking competition show. But can three weeks in a villa rekindle the promise of their one-night stand?

$16.99
See On Amazon

La La's connection with animals — and her criminal enterprise — go way back, but she thought she'd made it out of the life for good. Now, her recent crimes have police wondering: Who is this compassionate thief, who cares for her targets' pets in every break-in?

$26.99
See On Amazon

Promoting a novel about sex addiction in her native Morocco led Leïla Slimani to examine societal expectations for women and sex in the Arab world. She compiles her research here, in this new book perfect for fans of 'Three Women.'

$16.99
See On Amazon

From the co-hosts of the 'Call Your Girlfriend' podcast comes this new book about women's friendships. At turns touching and laugh-out-loud funny, 'Big Friendship' is a great read for anyone missing their BFFs during quarantine.

$26
See On Amazon

'Baby Teeth' author Zoje Stage returns this week with 'Wonderland': a creepy and tense new novel about a woman trying desperately to save her family from the evil that lurks near their new country home.

$28
See On Amazon

Share