Lord Huron Rules 'A Walk In The Woods' Soundtrack

Every good walk needs a good soundtrack (at least, that's what they tell me). A Walk In The Woods, starring Robert Redford and Nick Nolte, follows two old friends who decide to reunite to attempt to hike the Appalachian Trail. At 2,180 miles, the Appalachian Trail deserves one hell of a soundtrack, and A Walk In The Woods delivers. The film's track listing, however, is difficult to find, but, don't worry, here's where to get the Walk In The Woods soundtrack.

The movie, based on the best-selling memoir by Bill Bryson, hit theaters on Wed., Sept. 2, but the soundtrack won't be available for purchase until Sept. 25, when it'll be released on CD via Amazon. It's unclear why the month-long delay exists between the film's theatrical release and the release of the soundtrack, but no doubt the tracks will be worth the wait for fans of both the film and folk rock band Lord Huron. Lord Huron, a Los Angeles based folk group, is heavily featured on the soundtrack, providing four tracks off their 2012 debut album, Lonesome Dreams, as well as one original song written specifically for A Walk in the Woods, titled "The Birds are Singing at Night." You can listen to one of the songs, "She Lit a Fire," here:

When putting the soundtrack together, A Walk in the Woods director Ken Kwapis said in a statement that he wanted music that reflected "the majesty of the Appalachian Trail, its jaw-dropping vistas, its forbidding mountains and blessedly untamed wildlife." Kwapis found all that and more in the music of Lord Huron. In fact, Lord Huron's music is so crucial to the film that the band is listed on the film's official website in the 'Filmmakers' section.

"It was a pleasure to see our music paired with the beautiful Appalachian imagery of the movie. Like Bryson's book and Ken's movie, 'The Birds Are Singing at Night' acknowledges our small and fleeting occupancy in the universe — a realization of the massive scale and acientness of the natural world. Following the initial sense of insignificance and regret comes a sense of wonder and strange comfort," Lord Huron frontman Ben Schneider told Vulture.

Lord Huron isn't the only band that provided an original track to the Walk in the Woods soundtrack. Blake Mills' "Dead End Street" is also an exclusive song on the album. Finally, the soundtrack also features two tracks from the film's composer, Nathan Larson.

Here's an official track list:

  1. "Mud" by Nathan Larson
  2. "Dead End Street" by Blake Mills
  3. "The Birds Are Singing At Night" by Lord Huron
  4. "Tickin' Bomb" by Shovels and Rope
  5. "Crop Comes In" by Chatham County Line
  6. "The Lake" by Tim Grimm
  7. "The Ghost On The Shore" by Lord Huron
  8. "I Don't Care (Just As Long As You Love Me)" by Dwight Yoakam
  9. "Kissed Me Like Thunder" by Friends of Lola
  10. "She Lit A Fire" by Lord Huron
  11. "Think That You Might Be Wrong" by Great Lake Swimmers
  12. "So Many Stars" By Nathan Larson
  13. "Brother (Last Ride)" by Lord Huron
  14. "Ends of the Earth" by Lord Huron

A Walk in the Woods' Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is not yet available for streaming or purchase, but almost all the songs can be found around the internet to produce a makeshift soundtrack playlist while you wait, so you can get listening now.

Images: Broad Green Pictures