Can You Remove Someone From A Group Chat? On iMessage It's Way Easier Than You Think

If you have an iPhone, you probably know how annoying it can be to be thrown into a group thread with a bunch of people, especially one that's really active at the most inconvenient times. There have been times when I've been added to a message with 10-15 other people who send message after message, and I check my phone on a work break only to find that I have 200 new texts from people sending political memes and corgi GIFs. It's certainly possible to leave a group thread that you're in by going to "Details" and then choosing "Leave this conversation." But is it possible to delete someone else from a group thread on iMessage?

Maybe you have a friend who is super active in a group chat, or perhaps you were added to an iMessage thread with someone you just really don't care for. If this is the case, you can remove them from the conversation, as long as there are four or more people in that thread. If you want to delete someone from a group iMessage thread, you can go to "Details," press down on the person's name and swipe from right to left, and then choose the "Delete" option.

Giphy

Now that you are relieved to know how easy it is to get rid of that person who is driving you crazy in your group iMessage thread, there's a catch. If your chat includes four people, and you've deleted the one who is giving you a hard time, you'll no longer have the option to leave the message. This is likely because, at this point, you'd be in a message with just three people and if you left, it would become a straight-up two-person iMessage. If those two people want to text each other, they can do so without you throwing them together, although it would definitely be fun to start a group message with two random people in your contacts that don't know each other and then leave the thread.

If you're not into group texts, there are a few good options to work around them. You can either remove the people you don't want in the text, but not without the thread taking note that "You removed so and so from the conversation," for all to see. You can leave the conversation yourself, as long as there are at least four people, or, to avoid removing others and yourself, you can simply put that specific chat on "Do Not Disturb" located in the details section of your text, and you'll no longer receive notifications from the thread.

Now that you have this important new knowledge regarding your iMessage threads, you'll never fear being added to a hyper-active group chat again. Maybe.

Images: Giphy (1)