These Prominent Republicans Won't Vote Trump

by Amée LaTour

From House Speaker Paul Ryan's painstaking efforts not to seethe disdain for Donald Trump to the fact that the Republican National Committee only recently began spending on TV ads for their nominee, it's been kind of hard to ignore the reality confronting the GOP: It has a presidential candidate that the vast majority of its establishment does not in any way want. Only a handful of the party's lawmakers stuck to their refusal to back the nominee throughout the election, but, over the course of October, Trump saw over 40 Republican members of Congress and governors publicly disavow him, asserting that they would be voting for someone else on Election Day, in addition to a slew of former lawmakers doing the same. Here are the Republican lawmakers who refuse to vote for Trump.

These members of the House of Representatives are finding someone else to vote for.

  • Michigan Rep. Justin Amash
  • Alabama Rep. Bradley Byrne
  • Utah Rep. Jason Chaffetz
  • Colorado Rep. Mike Coffman
  • Virginia Rep. Barbara Comstock
  • Illinois Rep. Rodney Davis
  • Pennsylvania Rep. Charlie Dent
  • Nebraska Rep. Jeff Fortenberry
  • Texas Rep. Kay Granger
  • New Jersey Rep. Scott Garrett
  • Nevada Rep. Cresent Hardy
  • Nevada Rep. Joe Heck
  • Washington Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler
  • Texas Rep. Will Hurd
  • New York Rep. John Katko
  • New Jersey Rep. Frank LoBiondo
  • Utah Rep. Mia Love
  • Minnesota Rep. Erik Paulsen
  • Alabama Rep. Martha Roby
  • Florida Rep. Tom Rooney
  • Utah Rep. Chris Stewart
  • Michigan Rep. Fred Upton
  • Missouri Rep. Ann Wagner
Mark Wilson/Getty Images News/Getty Images

The following senators got on board with the above representatives in their public disavowal of Trump.

  • New Hampshire Sen. Kelly Ayotte
  • West Virginia Sen. Shelley Moore Capito
  • Maine Sen. Susan Collins
  • Idaho Sen. Mike Crapo
  • Arizona Sen. Jeff Flake
  • Nebraska Sen. Deb Fischer
  • Colorado Sen. Cory Gardner
  • Illinois Sen. Mark Kirk
  • Utah Sen. Mike Lee
  • Arizona Sen. John McCain
  • Alaska Sen. Lisa Murkowski
  • Ohio Sen. Rob Portman
  • Nebraska Sen. Ben Sasse
  • Alaska Sen. Dan Sullivan
  • South Dakota Sen. John Thune

Some governors also got in on the anti-Trump train...

  • Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley
  • South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard
  • Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam
  • Utah Gov. Gary Herbert
  • Ohio Gov. John Kasich
  • New Mexico Gov. Susana Martinez
  • Nevada Gov. Brian Sandoval
J.D. Pooley/Getty Images News/Getty Images

Current GOP lawmakers aren't the only ones voicing their opposition to Trump. In early October, as CNN reported, 30 former Republican members of Congress signed a public letter asserting that Trump "has proven himself manifestly unqualified to be president."

On Election Night 2016, we'll get a sense of how many voters in the country feel the same way as these Republicans.