How To Turn Off The Facebook "On This Day" Feature, Because Sometimes, No One Wants To See That

Social media is great for a lot of things, but reminding you of past relationships is not one of them. If you've ever been figuratively slapped in the face by a really fun #TBT moment, then you may want be interested in how to turn off Facebook's "On This Day" feature. Or maybe you're a glutton for punishment and would prefer to see pictures of you and your ex in happier times every single day. I don't know your life; you do you. But if you've grown weary of being reminded about things you'd rather forget? This one's for you.

Since its release in March 2015, "On This Day" has entertained millions of users with memories from their past Facebook usage. Reminders about people you friended, statuses you updated, and photos you posted can all be found in your tailor-made "On This Day" page each and every day. Get sent a particularly good memory? Share it on your Timeline! Let everyone share in on the fun! Don't hog all the remembering!

But the slightly less fun thing about social media is that the internet does not forget. No matter how painful your breakup was or how embarrassing your middle school photo comments were, the record is there — for-e-ver. So when Metro UK unearthed the trick to hiding your more, uh, unsavory memories from "On This Day," I felt compelled to spread the gospel. Unfortunately, you can't opt out of the memory feature all together — which I'm sure is a metaphor for our brains or something — but you can request that certain people and dates remain hidden forever. Or until you're at a point in your life where you're looking for a really good cry.

Either way, let's get down to editing our memories, shall we? Here's how to do it:

1. Go To Your Facebook Homepage

I know, I know, most of our social media feeds are a bundle of anxiety and scary headlines right now. But trust me, you'll thank yourself for this later.

2. Click On "On This Day" In The Apps section

BUT BE AWARE THAT YOU MAY SEE SOME TRIGGERING MEMORIES. Or you'll see nice memories and it will all be fine. Just... brace yourself for literally everything.

3. Click On "Preferences"

"In a way that's meaningful for you" or, alternatively, "In a way that's not emotionally devastating for you."

4. Select Which People And Dates You'd Like To Hide

Hopefully there aren't, like... that many dates you need to be filtering out, because you do have to do this one at a time.

5. Live Your Life Blissfully Unaware Of Past Heartbreak And Sorrow

Giphy

Or, y'know, just put it away until you decide you want to look at it again. The point is, you no longer have to worry about it springing itself upon you unbidden. And that? Is truly something to celebrate.

Images: Getty Images; Maddy Foley/Bustle (5); Giphy