Los Angeles Film Critics Awards 2014 Winners — Who Took Home the Prize?

NEW YORK, NY - SEPTEMBER 29: Actors Miles Teller (L) and J.K. Simmons attend Sony Pictures Classics' screening of 'Whiplash' hosted by The Cinema Society and Brooks Brothers at the iPaley Center For Media on September 29, 2014 in New York City. (Photo by Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images)
Source: Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images

Today the Los Angeles Film Critics Association gathered to vote for its award winners. It was already announced that legendary actress Gena Rowlands will receive a career achievement award. Film critic Leonard Maltin will also be honored by the group. As the L.A. Film Critics Association votes, the winners and the runners-up for each category will be announced throughout the day. These awards are historically interesting: Usually award show season can get rather repetitive with the same winners in each category at every awards show. However, the L.A. Film Critics Awards winners are not always indicative of the upcoming award show recipients. In fact, they are usually not-at-all predictive. For instance, only four of fourteen winners in the Best Actress category have gone on to winner Academy Awards. 

Weirdly enough, the five winners previous to 2012, obviously when Jennifer Lawrence won, the five winners were not even nominated for Oscars at all. So these announcements might not mean anything in terms of predicting the upcoming award show winners, but it might be better that way. Who wants to hear the same names over and over again? Well I guess you would if you were the one taking home these statues, but I consider that to be a clear exception in this train of thought. Check out the winners for yourself:

Supporting Actor

Winner: J.K Simmons, Whiplash

Runner-Up: Edward Norton, Birdman

Production Design

Winner: Adam Stockhausen, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Runner-up: Ondrej Nekvasil, Snowpiercer

Film Editing

Winner: Sandra Adair, Boyhood

Runner-up: Barney Pilling, The Grand Budapest Hotel


Winner: The Tale of the Princess Kaguya

Runner-up: The Lego Movie


Winners (tie): Jonny Greenwood, Inherent Vice and Mica Levi, Under the Skin

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Agata Kulesza, Ida

Runner-Up: Rene Russo, Nightcrawler

Douglas Edwards Award for Best Experimental/Independent Film

Winner: Walter Reuben, The David Whiting Story

Best Cinematography

Winner: Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman

Runner-Up: Dick Pope, Mr. Turner

Best Documentary/Nonfiction Film


Runner-UpLife Itself

Best Actress

Winner: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood 

Runner-Up: Julianne Moore, Still Alice

Best Screenplay

Winner: Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Runner-Up: Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, and Armando, Birdman

New Generation Award

WinnerAva DuVernay, Selma

Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: Ida

Runner-Up: Winter Sleep

Best Director

WinnerRichard Linklater, Boyhood

Runner-Up: Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Actor

Winner: Tom Hardy, Locke

Runner-UpMichael Keaton, Birdman

Best Picture


Runner-UpThe Grand Budapest Hotel

Images: Getty Images(16)

Must Reads