Winners Of The Cannes Film Festival Awards

Wondering about the next great and awe-inspiring movies that you may need to see on your must-see list? Well, prestigious film festivals can be a pretty good predictor. Right now, the renowned Cannes Film Festival in France is holding its award ceremony, honoring the next great filmmakers, writers, and actors in Hollywood. The competition awards, which includes the coveted Palme d'Or ("The Golden Palm") for Best Film, are decided by the Cannes jury, which is made up of a very distinguished jury. This year's Palme d'Or winner is Dheepan by Jacques Audiard, and it's a gripping drama that follows the lives of three Sri Lankan refugees in Paris. Among the other honorees include actresses Rooney Mara for Carol and Emmanuelle Bercot for Mon roi, director Hou Hsiao-hsien for The Assassin, actor Vincent Lindon for The Measure of a Man, and many more.

This year's jury presidents are Oscar-winning directors and screenwriters Joel and Ethan Coen (Fargo, No Country For Old Men, Inside Llewyn Davis), who have also won numerous awards at previous Cannes Film Festivals. Their jury includes actor Jake Gyllenhaal, director Guillermo Del Toro, actress Sienna Miller, actress/director Sophie Marceau, composer Rokia Traore, and actress Rossy De Palma. Quite a panel of judges for this year's films. The Palme d'Or is the highest honor a film can receive at Cannes and has been previously awarded to films like Marty, Black Orpheus, Amour, Blue Is The Warmest Color, The Tree Of Life, Fahrenheit 9/11, Pulp Fiction, The Piano, and many more. It's quite a launching pad for amazing movies.

Here are this year's winners, as they're announced live from France.

Competition Award Winners


Palme d’Or: Jacques Audiard, Dheepan

Grand Prix: Laszlo Nemes, Son of Saul (Hungary)

Director: Hou Hsiao-hsien, The Assassin (Taiwan)

Actor: Vincent Lindon, The Measure of a Man (France)

Actress (tie): Emmanuelle Bercot, Mon roi (France), and Rooney Mara, Carol (U.K.)

Jury Prize: Yorgos Lanthimos, The Lobster (Greece-Ireland-U.K.-Netherlands-France)

Screenplay: Michel Franco, “Chronic” (Mexico-France)