Your Dark Chocolate Might Actually Be Milk Chocolate In Disguise, Says FDA Report — Also Your Entire Life Is A Lie

It turns out consumers that were allergic to milk were experiencing adverse reactions after eating their favorite dark chocolates, and the FDA decided to find out why. The results? A lot of dark chocolate actually contains milk, according to the FDA. Is it just me, or does anyone else suddenly feel like their entire life has been a lie?

The difference between dark and milk chocolate is generally based on additives; dark chocolate is more cocoa-based, while milk chocolate is diluted with milks, creams, and sugars. Generally for those with milk allergies and a lactose intolerance, reaching for a dark chocolate bar seems like the way to go.

Unfortunately, though, the FDA found otherwise. Researchers tested 94 different bars of dark chocolate and found that 61 percent of them contained milk. The problem is that only six of the bars actually listed milk as an ingredient on the label. This is a huge concern to consumers with allergies or other dietary restrictions who are relying on labels to inform them of whether an item "may contain milk," or whether it's "lactose free" or "vegan." According to researchers, even with these labels, there's still a pretty decent chance you're going to get some lactose all up in your candy bar.

If you have a lactose allergy, or are just concerned about being deceived by a label, here are some words and phrases to watch out for:

1. "May Contain Milk"

Labels like "may contain dairy" or "may contain traces of milk" usually mean that you're getting some cow juice in ya. "FDA found that milk was present in three out of every four dark chocolate products with one of these advisory statements," the study reports. "Some products had milk levels as high as those found in products that declared the presence of milk."

2. "Dairy Free"

A label pronouncing that the chocolate beneath is "dairy free" or "lactose free" might be worth taking with a grain of salt. According to the study, the FDA found milk in 15 percent of dark chocolate products labeled "dairy free" and in 25 percent of those labeled "vegan."

3. No Mention Of Milk

Much like a someone with a hickey at work or seeing our ex on the train, just because we don't talk about it doesn't mean it isn't there. “'Milk-allergic consumers should be aware that 33 percent of the dark chocolates with no mention of milk anywhere on the label were, in fact, found to contain milk," said Stefano Luccioli, M.D., a senior medical advisor at FDA.

The FDA is currently pushing for ways to address the findings of the study. However, in the meantime, experts advise those with lactose intolerance or other dietary restrictions to understand the risks involved with consuming dark chocolate, even when the label says it's okay.

Images: Giphy (4)