Can You Remove A Post From Your Instagram Archive? Here's What To Know

Share

In their newest update, Instagram officially released a new archiving feature that allows users to remove posts from their public timeline to a private folder. For those who are either trying to make a business profile, or want to keep their profile clean for the public, this archiving feature is great for preserving memories on Instagram. But what about the posts that were accidentally archived? Or the posts you just want to delete? Can you remove an Instagram post from your archive?

The short answer is yes, you can!

How? Well, to archive a post, open up the photo on Instagram and click the "..." button on the top right-hand corner. A menu will pop up that will allow you to edit, delete, and yes, now archive. Select archive to put it away in a select folder. This folder can be found by clicking the clock with a circle arrow on the top right-hand corner of your Instagram profile.

Courtesy of Instagram

Now what if you accidentally archived a photo, or decided you just want to get rid of it entirely? It's as easy as walking through pretty much the same process as before! Open the photo that you want to archive and select the "..." button on the top right-hand corner. A similar menu will pop up that will allow you to put the photo back on your profile by selecting "Show on Profile." Want to just flat-out delete the photo? Select "delete" and it's gone forever!

Courtesy of Instagram

Thanks to this new feature, you can preserve all of your memories and pick and choose how you want your Instagram layout to look!