Here's Your Handy Guide To All Of The Characters In 'Dark Crystal: Age Of Resistance'

Kevin Baker /Netflix

The return of Dark Crystal is set to be furriest fantasy epic you've ever seen. The Netflix series is an all-muppet adventure with Gelflings and Skeksis to spare in a throwback to the '82 film. However, the Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance characters are different from the original film.

That's because The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance is a prequel to Jim Henson's fantasy film. According to the official Netflix description of the series, here's what goes down:

"When three Gelfling discover the horrifying secret behind the Skeksis’ power, they set out on an epic journey to ignite the fires of rebellion and save their world."

As fans of the film, already know, there are two main races in The Dark Crystal: the Gelfling and the Skeksis. For those less familiar: in Thra, the name of the fantasy land, there are seven clans of Gelfling. Their names are: Vapra the scholars/ruling clan, Stonewood the warriors, Grotton the underground dwellers, as well as Sifa, Dousan, and Spriton. With multiple ruling families, it's very muppets meets Game of Thrones. Their enemies are the Skeksis — the spooky creatures who look like crows and have control of the Dark Crystal... which is very muppets meets Lord of the Rings.

You may recognize the Skeksis' titles (Chamberlain, Ritual Master, General, Gourmand, etc.) from the Dark Crystal film — but since the Netflix series is a prequel, they're not necessarily the same exact characters. The Age Of Resistance is bringing this world back to life for a new story. The creatures are the same, but the adventure is unlike anything you've seen before.

Here are all of the new characters. Like any fantasy epic, there are a lot to keep track of right off the bat. Hopefully, putting names to faces before you dive in will help.


Kevin Baker/Netflix

Played by Taron Egerton (Rocketman, Kingsman: The Secret Service), Rian is a castle guard. He's part of the Stonewood clan, whose leader Maudra Fara is played by Lena Headey (Game of Thrones).


Kevin Baker/Netflix

Rian's father is played by fellow Kingsman Mark Strong.


Kevin Baker/Netflix

Played by Nathalie Emmanuel (Game of Thrones, Four Weddings & A Funeral), Deet cares for animals and is part of the Grottan clan.


Kevin Baker/Netflix

Played by Anya Taylor-Joy (Split), Brea is a princess of the Vapra clan. Brea, Rian, and Deet are our trio of heroes.

Seladon & Tavra

Kevin Baker/Netflix

Played by Gugu Mbatha-Raw (Beyond The Lights, Belle) and Catriona Balfe (Outlander), respectively, these are Brea's two sisters. Tavra is a warrior with a girlfriend named Onica, played by Natalie Dormer (Game of Thrones, The Hunger Games).


Kevin Baker/Netflix

Their mother, the Queen, is played by Helena Bonham-Carter.


Kevin Baker/Netflix

Voiced by Donna Kimball, Aughra is a scientist who guards the planet and handed the Dark Crystal over to the Skeksis.

The Librarian

Kevin Baker/Netflix

This character is played by character actor Toby Jones, perhaps best known as Arnim Zola in the MCU. He is also part of the Vapra clan, and works in the citadel.


Kevin Baker/Netflix

Rian's friend is played by Hannah John-Korman (Ant-Man and the Wasp) and has a twin brother named Gurjin.

Other Gelfling characters are voiced by: Eddie Izzard, Shazad Latif, Alicia Vikander, and Theo James. This cast is not messing around!

The Emperor

Kevin Baker/Netflix

Now, for the baddies. The leader of the Skeksis is played by none other than Jason Isaacs (Star Trek Discovery, Harry Potter, The OA) himself.

The Scientist

Kevin Baker/Netflix

The Skeksis have titles instead of names, and their science guy is played by Mark Hamill.

The Ritual Master

Kevin Baker/Netflix

The high priest very concerned with the Dark Crystal's powers and, he is played by Keegan-Michael Key (Keanu).

The Chamberlain

Kevin Baker/Netflix

This comic character is played by Simon Pegg (Star Trek, Shaun Of The Dead).

Other Skeksis

Kevin Baker/Netflix

Other members of the dark side are voiced by Awkwafina, Benedict Wong, Andy Samberg, Harvey Fierstein, and Ralph Ineson.