Jonathan Safran Foer Has a New Book, 'Here I Am,' Coming In 2016 So Get Excited!

Fans of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close have cause for excitement today. Jonathan Safran Foer will publish a new novel in 2016, his first in a decade. So everyone get ready to pre-order!

The new novel, which is titled, Here I Am, is due out in both the U.S. and the U.K. in September of 2016. The story focuses on a troubled Jewish American family living in Washington, and is set against the broader backdrop of political instability and an earthquake in the Middle East.

You wouldn’t mistake any sentence of it for any other writer,” acquiring editor Eric Chinski told The New York Times. “It’s got this high-wire inventiveness and intensity of imagination in it, and the sheer energy that we associate with Jonathan’s writing, but it’s a big step forward for him. It’s got a kind of toughness; it’s dirty, it’s kind of funny, like Portnoy’s Complaint, it exposes American Jewish life.”

However publishers also note that, even though Foer also grew up in a Jewish family in Washington, the novel isn't autobiographical. Chinski told The New York Times, "It’s not an autobiographical novel except in the sense that any mature novel reflects a lot of life experiences. The book reflects growing up and coming to terms with the world.”

Jonathan Safran Foer is the author of several books, most notably the novels Everything Is Illuminated and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close as well as the nonfiction book Eating Animals. He is also the person who came up the idea to put stories on Chipotle cups. His new novel, Here I Am, will be his first novel to be in more than 10 years — it was at one point reported he would be releasing a new book in 2014 but the title never materialized. So fans of his fiction will doubtlessly be lining up to get their hands on a copy of this long awaited new work.

So congratulations, Foer fans! The wait is almost over!