Tinder Now Lets You Send People's Profiles To Your Coworkers

Last month, Tinder announced that it would be rolling out a new feature designed to let users "play matchmaker" and share Tinder profiles with one another. But now that the feature is live in New York, folks have noticed an odd platform integration: you can share Tinder profiles with coworkers using Slack and LinkedIn. When Tinder first announced the share feature, they said when someone shares a profile with you and you swipe right for a match, your profile will appear in the other person's recommendations if you line up with that they're looking for. Of course, the hidden joy of the share feature (and probably its much more frequently utilized purpose) is to send your friends WTF profiles when you come across Tinder horror shows.

Tapping the share button generates a temporary link to a user's profile, which you can then send to another person with the autogenerated message "What do you think about [name]? [Red X emoji] [heart emoji]" and a note about how the link will expire soon. Tapping the link opens the Tinder app (or prompts you to download it if you don't already have it) and sends you directly to the profile of the person with whom it's associated.

But, as an intrepid reporter at Business Insider discovered, the platforms integrated with Tinder's share feature are some odd choices. For example, you can't share profiles via Facebook or the Facebook messenger app, but you can share them via text, Slack, LinkedIn, Pocket, and Wunderlist.

Giphy

Wunderlist is a to-do app, and Pocket is an app for saving links to read later, so sharing a Tinder profile on either of those platforms is sort of just a way to bookmark it for yourself.

But on Slack, you can essentially share the link with your entire business team, either person-to-person in a Direct Message, or with a group by sending it to a whole Slack channel.

And on LinkedIn, you can share a profile in a public post, or tag one of your connections on it.

According to Business Insider, "Tinder has previously said that shared links will expire after five clicks or 72 hours." So hurry up and click on that ridiculous, self-professed "male feminist"'s profile ASAP, or you'll get locked out of all the fun.

Want more of Bustle's Sex and Relationships coverage? Check out our new podcast, I Want It That Way, which delves into the difficult and downright dirty parts of a relationship, and find more on our Soundcloud page.

Images: Fotolia; Giphy