Where To Get The 'Star Trek Beyond Soundtrack' & Hear The Out-Of-This-World Music

Star Trek Beyond, the third movie in the reboot series of the famed TV series, is bringing a lot of exciting new elements to the table. The film, in theaters July 29, is co-written by Simon Pegg, introduces Idris Elba as a villain, and features a song by Sia and Rihanna in the trailer. If the trailer song caught your attention, you might be wondering where to get the Star Trek Beyond soundtrack. Well, if you are, there's just a few things you should know.

For starters, Sia and Rihanna's song "Sledgehammer" is not actually on the soundtrack, nor is the Beastie Boys song "Sabotage" that has appeared in other marketing for the reboot. Instead, the Star Trek Beyond Official Motion Picture Soundtrack is actually the film's score, written by composer Michael Giacchino. So if you were looking for a compilation album of pop songs, you'll be left wanting. But if you're into instrumental tracks played by a full orchestra, this soundtrack will be your jam. The album is available on Amazon on July 29, the same day as the theatrical release. The one downside is that the only listed available format for the soundtrack is audio CD, so as of now there's nowhere to pre-purchase a digital version.

RihannaVEVO on YouTube

You can, however, purchase "Sledgehammer" and "Sabotage" in MP3 form on iTunes, so that can at least give you a taste of the Star Trek Beyond music. And then once you have the physical soundtrack in your hands, you can upload it to your iTunes library. I know, I know, how old fashioned. Life is hard.

But if you can find the willingness to accept the soundtrack in its CD format, there's a lot of fantastic Trekkie tunes that await you. The track titles alone are enough to reveal the delightfully nerdy nature of the soundtrack, which features perfectly punny songs such as "Krall-y Krall-y Oxen Free" and "Thank Your Lucky Star Date." And, of course, the album features an arrangement of the iconic Star Trek theme song, which Giacchino also included in the scores for the previous two films.

Cine Eterno on YouTube

For a taste of the musical trek that lies ahead, check out the full track listing:

1. "Logo And Prosper"

2. "Thank Your Lucky Star Date"

3. "Night On The Yorktown"

4. "The Dance Of The Nebula"

5. "A Swarm Reception"

6. "Hitting The Saucer A Little Hard"

7. "Jaylah Damage"

8. "In Artifacts As In Life"

9. "Franklin, My Dear"

10. "A Lesson In Vulcan Mineralogy"

11. "MotorCycles Of Relief"

12. "Mocking Jaylah"

13. "Crash Decisions"

14. "Krall-y Krall-y Oxen Free"

15. "Shutdown Happens"

16. "Cater-Krall In Zero G"

17. "Par-tay For The Course"

18. "Star Trek Main Theme"

It's enough to make any Trekkie swoon. And even if you're not a die-hard fan, you can definitely get on board with Giacchino's impressive arrangements. So sit tight for the release of the Star Trek Beyond soundtrack— it's sure to be out of this world.

Image: Paramount