Is Eggnog Gluten-Free? You Have To Pay Attention To The Ingredients

People with food allergies and dietary restrictions have to constantly worry about the contents of their meals. Even when something seems like it could in no way interfere, it might — which is why you have to ask questions to ensure all food is safe to eat. So this holiday season, don't be shy about wondering whether or not eggnog is gluten-free. Because, while it might seem unlikely that a treat so innocuously Christmas-y and grain-free could have gluten, it might actually turn out that it does.

Virgin eggnog drinks are mostly gluten-free. The ingredients needed include: milk, egg, cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla. But, if you're interested in a boozy eggnog, you ought to find out what kind of liquor was used to make your drink alcoholic, because some liquors like whiskey and bourbon — and even some vodkas! — can have traces of gluten in them. So, if you're gluten intolerant, you'll want to check with your bartender or party host before you start swilling eggnogs. The last thing you want on Christmas is to get sick, especially when it's so avoidable.

If you're planning on making your own eggnog this year, these are a few recipes you'll want to try out. If you're having a party, it's always safer to go gluten-free with drinks that can be unsuspecting gluten contenders.

Rum Slow Cook Eggnog

This recipe by Gluten-Free on a Shoestring is a slow cook, which means that your house will be wearing the perfume of eggnog all day while the drink brews. To make it boozy and gluten-free, follow the directions for adding rum — but also feel free to leave it out, it's just as delicious on its own.

Bailey's & Eggnog

This Averie Cooks recipe is perfect for a mid-day break or a dessert. Bailey's is super decadent and gluten-free, so use as much as you'd like! It makes everything sweeter and creamier.

White Russian Eggnog

This recipe by Offbeat and Inspired is just that: Instead of your classic White Russian with milk, opt for some eggnog. Just make sure that the vodka is potato-based, and you'll be fine!

Chai Latte Eggnog

Who says your eggnog has to be boozy at all? Steam your chai latte in the morning with some fresh eggnog for an elevated flavor without the hangover. Check out the recipe on Averie Cooks.

Bailey's & Espresso Eggnog

Get some energy and get a buzz going at the same time with this delicious-looking recipe brought to you by How Sweet It Is. It's got eggnog, espresso, Bailey's, and ice.

The Super Boozy Eggnog

This drink has all the classic flavors, plus a ton booze. There's rum, there's gluten-free bourbon, and there's liquour. Follow this recipe by Lick My Spoon to learn how to make it.

Images: Averie Cooks, Lick My Spoon, How Sweet It Is, Gluten-Free On A Shoestring, Offbeat and Inspired.