The 2015 CFDA Fashion Award Nominees Have Been Announced, And Instagram's Officially Being Recognized By The Industry

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen attend the WWD @ 100 Anniversary Party at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City, November 2, 2010. AFP PHOTO / Elizabeth Pantaleo (Photo credit should read Elizabeth Pantaleo/AFP/Getty Images)
Source: AFP/AFP/Getty Images

I'm still kind of reeling from Rihanna's now-infamous naked dress from last year's event, but it looks the next one is already almost upon us. Today, the 2015 CFDA Fashion Award nominees were announced, so it's time to make room for both more crazy red carpet moments and newly recognized designers. Among the notable nominees on the list: Betsey Johnson, Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen (twice,) and everyone's favorite FOMO-inducer: Instagram.

This is the world's most fashionable set of twins' third and fourth nominations, and their first two resulted in wins: In 2012, they took home the Womenswear Designer of the Year award just six years after founding The Row, and last year they were presented with Accessories Designer of the Year. They're up for the same awards this year, so maybe they'll keep the win streak alive. 

Betsey Johnson is being honored with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, which Tom Ford took home last year. The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard will go to Instagram, and even though it seems odd that a social media platform would take home a CFDA Award, it makes sense. It's made huge contributions to the industry by making fashion available and understandable to the masses, for better or for worse.

Here's the full list of nominees:

Womenswear Designer of the Year

  • Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra
  • Marc Jacobs
  • Michael Kors
  • Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler  
  • Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year

  • Thom Browne
  • Tim Coppens
  • Tom Ford
  • Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne, Public School
  • Marcus Wainwright and David Neville, Rag & Bone

Accessories Designer of the Year

  • Alexander Wang
  • Tabitha Simmons
  • Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, The Row
  • Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler
  • Irene Neuwirth 

Swarovski Award for Womenswear

  • Rosie Assoulin
  • Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne, Public School
  • Ryan Roche

Swarovski Award for Menswear

  • Shayne Oliver, Hood by Air
  • Alex, Matthew, and Samantha Orley, Orley
  • Shimon and Ariel Ovadia, Ovadia & Sons

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design

  • Paul Andrew
  • Eva Zuckerman, Eva Fehren
  • Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel, Mansur Gavriel

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award

Betsey Johnson

International Award

Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli of Valentino

The Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert

Mickey Drexler

The Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard 


The CFDA awards will be held at the Lincoln Center in New York City on Monday, June 1. Here's to hoping for a new crop of crazy red carpet outfits!

Image: Getty Images

Must Reads