8 New Fantasy Books Perfect For Fans Of Harry Potter
Share

Sometimes all I want to do is read Harry Potter all day every day. Even with the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movies, the productions of Cursed Child, and other new Harry Potter stories coming our way, none of it compares to sitting down with the series and letting the Wizarding World blossom in your mind's eye. The good news, though, is that there are plenty of amazing novels out there that are sure to excite Harry Potter fans and take readers on magical new adventures.

If only we could recreate the experience of reading the Harry Potter series for the first time. That magical moment when you're first introduced to Hogwarts and Hogsmeade and Quidditch! But while we'll never be able to read Harry Potter for the first time ever again, there are many new books coming out every day that offer their own wild rides.

With so many exciting things happening in the fantasy and young adult genres, I like to think of Harry Potter as a gateway drug to the wider world of fantasy. So, if you're craving something fresh, here are some new releases filled with adventure, quirkiness, and (of course) plenty of magic.

1'Strange the Dreamer' by Laini Taylor

In this exciting book, an orphan librarian named Lazlo dreams of a mysterious city called Weep. When a mysterious hero named the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors presents Lazlo with an opportunity to turn his dreams into reality, he must seize the day — or lose the chance forever.

Click here to buy.

2'Toward A Secret Sky' by Heather Maclean

Seventeen-year-old orphan Maren Hamilton is sent to live with her grandparents in Scotland. But when she receives an encrypted journal from her dead mother, she discovers that her parents were part of a secret organization, and she finds herself in the midst of a dangerous mystery.

Click here to buy.

3'The White Road of the Moon' by Rachel Neumeier

Meridy lives with a cruel aunt and cousins who hate her (sound familiar?). Plus, she can see ghosts, a power that's feared and shunned. So when she runs away from home, she falls in with a mysterious stranger and a ghost boy, and becomes wrapped up in a rich magical world.

Click here to buy.

4'Camp So-and-So' by Mary McCoy

OK, I really don't want to spoil this quirky book for you, because I want you to be surprised at what you find. Let's just say it all starts when a group of girls are invited to a fancy summer camp, only to discover that the camp never existed. What results is a supernatural mystery that will keep you flipping pages until you reach its conclusion.

Click here to buy.

5'A Crown of Wishes' by Roshani Chokshi

If Goblet of Fire is your favorite Harry Potter book, you're going to love this one. Gauri is a princess of a kingdom called Bharata who is captured by her country's enemies. In order to win her freedom, she teams up with a prince to compete in a dangerous competition: the Tournament of Wishes.

Click here to buy.

6'The Bone Witch' by Rin Chupeco

Magic has a dark flair in this riveting read. Tea, unlike the other witches in her family, has a gift for necromancy, making her a bone witch — a type of witch that is both highly feared and highly powerful. Because of her powers, she's forced to leave her homeland to train under an experienced bone witch. But with war brewing in her kingdom, Tea must rethink everything she knows about herself — and her magic.

Click here to buy.

7'Carmer and Grit' by Sarah Jean Horwitz

This quirky steampunk read brings a little fun into the mix. Determined to win a competition, Carmer, a magician's apprentice, strikes a deal with a faerie princess named Grit: if he helps her investigate a string of magical disappearances, she'll use her magic to make his illusions seem real.

Click here to buy.

8'Dragon's Green' by Scarlett Thomas

Effie is a student at the Tusitala School for the Gifted and Strange. When her grandfather becomes ill, she learns that she is to inherit his library. But this is no ordinary library: it contains a power that Effie must learn to wield.

Click here to buy.