Do Limitless Snaps Disappear? The New Snapchat Feature Is Still Covert

Share

When Snapchat first arose in 2011, its platform of fleeting messages gave rise to a new, ephemeral form of social interaction. But with the latest updates to Snapchat, thingsmight seem a bit, uh, different. And people will probably want to know: Do Limitless Snaps disappear? Yes, I said "limitless." As in, the limit does not exist. But what does the phrase "Limitless Snap" mean, exactly? In what way is such a Snap limitless? Well, I have good news for you: Limitless Snaps are still as covert as ever.

One in a slew of changes announced today on their blog, Snap Inc. has added an additional option for your Snap's timing. Previously, users had been able to set the view time for a video or image to between one and 10 seconds. After one "do-over" replay option, the message was gone for good (unless someone takes a screenshot of the Snap in question). This latest move, however, allows you to select a "limitless" option. For as long as your friend has the Snap open, the message will continue to play.

"We’ve all felt the frustration of not being able to fully enjoy a Snap – even after replaying it," wrote Team Snap, "and we wanted to give you the option of allowing the recipient to enjoy your Snap as long as they’d like." Now, your friends can see you pose with another dog filter for as long as they like. Forever, even — or as long as their phone batter lasts. But don't worry — the number of times they can view the Snap hasn't changed. As your pals tap to close the Limitless Snap, it will delete as usual.

Giphy

In addition to Limitless Snaps, Snapchat has reorganized the layout of your creative tools, as well as added "Looping Videos," a "Magic Eraser" (think low-key Photoshop), and the ability to "draw" on your Snaps with emojis (read: hundreds of crying laughing faces. Thousands, even).

The how-to for Limitless Snaps is super simple. Just select the infinity sign as your time limit. Like, that's it.

Courtesy of Snapchat

Ominous, huh? But again, the Snap automatically deletes once your friend has closed it. And even if they take a screenshot for the ~memories~, you'll know — Snapchat sends a notification about that, too.

So rest easy, my friends. What happens in Snapchat, stays in Snapchat. Mostly, at least.