Is Beer Kosher For Passover? Here's What You Need To Know About This Popular Drink
Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images
Share

Staying kosher for Passover isn't always intuitive. You know you can't eat anything with leavened bread, but if you're being honest, you're not really sure what that means. Beyond your abstinence from most bakery items, you're not sure what you can and can't eat. And if you're over 21 and looking to drink during Passover — and if Manischewitz is not your jam — you're probably wondering if beer is kosher for Passover. The answer is two-fold: no, and yes.

According to Chabad.org, beer is '"chametz." What's chametz? According to the site, it's "any food product made from wheat, barley, rye, oats or spelt that has come into contact with water and been allowed to ferment and rise." Aka, considering it is made from wheat and barley, beer is not Passover approved. But! All hope isn't lost — there are now "beers" on the market that are permitted on the Passover table.

An Israeli brewing company called Meadan Craft Brewing has created a beer that's totally kosher for Passover. How? Well, as you know, standard beer is chametz, meaning, it's made with ingredients that need to rise which makes it against Passover law. But this special beer is made with dates. Not only that, but it's gluten-free, too.

Arriving on the market just in time for Passover 2017, this kosher beer will be a meal-saver for those who rely on that fermented bubbly to enjoy a holiday get together. But whenever in doubt, check the label  for "kosher" or "P" for parve. Food companies don't typically leave it a mystery — they want their consumers to know about what they're eating or drinking.

If you don't have easy access to a kosher beer selection, you might want to consider potato or rice based drinks — it's not all Manischewitz or bust. There are plenty of things that you can drink that have nothing to do with leavening. And besides, Passover is only eight days long, so you don't have to give up the beer for too long. For some more options, here's the booze you can drink on Passover:

Wine

Giphy

Any kind of wine should be good. Not just Manischewitz. Use this time to test out a new wine, or give Manischewitz another try. It's really not that bad!

Domestic Vodka

Giphy

Most domestic vodkas are certified kosher, just make sure to check. There are endless cocktail options with vodka!

Whiskey

Giphy

Most blended whiskers are certified kosher, so enjoy a strong drink when your family becomes too much for you.

Tequila

Giphy

Party time, excellent! Passover tequila shots for all! Tequila is totally kosher.