What Alcohol Is Kosher For Passover? Here's Your Ultimate Guide

Just because it's Passover doesn't mean you've got to give up your favorite adult beverages for the next eight days. What alcohol is kosher for Passover? Follow this quick and dirty guide, and make tonight's seder just as memorable as any spring festival.

The most important question to ask yourself when unsure of any alcohol's pareve status is, "Is this made with wheat, barley, spelt, rye, or oat?" Doing a few seconds of internet research can pay off in the long run when you're enjoying vodka sodas per usual instead of begrudgingly begging the bartender for Manischewitz on a Wednesday.

If you're partaking in the next week's events, it's never a bad idea to refresh your memory on the history of Passover, either. It's a celebration of the Israelites' liberation from Egypt, and as every religious holiday necessitates, there is a certain amount of reverence that should be given to Passover's origins. Once you commune with your roots, it's time to turn toward the most comforting and enjoyable part of any social gathering: the food, drink, and conversation.

With your memory freshly jogged on the reason for the season, it's time to grab a kosher beverage and enjoy the evening. Follow along to stay within religious guidelines while turning up for Passover 2016.

Wine

Your safest bet for Passover Seder is always wine. Traditionally, those present are expected to drink four cups. Because wine is made from fermented grapes and not fermented grains, it's usually a go. To exercise extra caution, check the bottles to make sure it is mevushal, or kosher for Passover.

Vodka

Let's hear it for 'Murica! All domestic vodkas are kosher, while imported selections require certification. That said, there are a few brands with unflavored selections that don't require certification: Ketel One, Absolut, Belvedere, Finlandia, Three Olives, Grey Goose, Iceberg, and Provda. As for vodkas that are kosher for Passover? If it's potato-based instead of wheat, you should be fine.

Beer

Any beer made with wheat, barley, spelt, rye, or oat is unfortunately not kosher for Passover.

Bourbon

Because many Jews abstain from consuming anything that contains fermented or leavened grain, bourbon is usually off the table during Passover.

Scotch

Scotch can either be single or double malt. Regardless of the type, if they are listed as having been aged in sherry casks, then they are not recommended.

Whiskey

Blended whiskeys need to have certification. Check with your rabbi if shots are the order of the day.

Rum

Rum generally requires certification to be considered kosher.

Tequila

Regular or white tequila is the recommended option for those keeping kosher. The aging process necessitated by other types of tequila, like gold or reposado, calls into question its pareve status for some.

If you're keeping kosher and have any questions, consult your rabbi. L'chaim!

Images: Fotolia; Giphy.com (8)