The 'Little Fires Everywhere' Soundtrack Is The PERFECT '90s Mix

Jordan Elsass as Trip Richardson in 'Little Fires Everywhere'
Courtesy of Hulu
Originally Published: 

Since Hulu's latest miniseries is set in the '90s, its soundtrack is filled with time-specific hits in addition to newer covers. The songs in Little Fires Everywhere range from soul to indie rock to hip-hop, and everything in between. In Episode 2, Mia rocks a David Bowie T-shirt, and she listens to Aretha Franklin and Nina Simone.

While the older Richardson kids prefer Top 40 songs, Izzy (Megan Stott) marches to the beat of her own Walkman and prefers Beck and Fiona Apple, among others. She listens to Liz Phair while spray-painting her furniture on the front lawn and brings up Lilith Fair at dinner. Moody has a similar taste in music to his younger sister, writing Nirvana lyrics on Pearl's arm after getting high and commenting that she can't believe his friend's mom listens to The Velvet Underground. Moody's friend Carl is similarly snooty, reluctantly agreeing to go to the homecoming dance. But he cautions that "if they play that f*cking Sugar Ray song, I'm out," which is likely a reference to the band's '97 hit "Fly."

The school dance itself predictably includes songs that were popular in the fall of 1997 — songs like "Waterfalls" by TLC and "Tubthumping" by Chumbawamba, to which the high schoolers excitedly mosh. Fortunately for Carl, however, there is nary a Sugar Ray song in sight.

Here are all the songs featured in Little Fires Everywhere, listed episode-by-episode, with more to come as the season continues airing.

Episode 1 — "The Spark"

Courtesy of Hulu
  • "Little Bird" — Annie Lennox
  • "On & On" — Erykah Badu
  • "Angel from Montgomery" — Bonnie Raitt
  • "Since I Fell for You" — Nina Simone
  • "Whip-Smart" — Liz Phair
  • "Sex and Candy" — Unions
  • "Hole In The Bucket" — Spearhead
  • "I'll Be Your Mirror" — Velvet Underground
  • "Rain King" — Counting Crows
  • "Summer in the City" — Quincy Jones
  • "Sex and Candy" — Unions (cover)

Episode 2 — "Seeds and All"

Courtesy of Hulu
  • "Rock Steady" — Aretha Franklin
  • "Where It's At" — Beck
  • "What You Do" — Mighty Hannibal
  • "Express Yourself" — Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd Street Band
  • "U.N.I.T.Y." — Queen Latifah
  • "I Walk On Guilded Splinters" — Dr. John
  • "Femme Fatale" — Velvet Underground

Episode 3 — "Seventy Cents"

Courtesy of Hulu
  • "Karmacoma" — Massive Attack
  • "Tubthumping" — Chumbawamba
  • "Lovefool" — The Cardigans
  • "Waterfalls" — TLC
  • "It's Your Birthday" — Luke
  • "In the Air Tonight" — Mindy Jones
  • "Truly Madly Deeply" — Savage Garden
  • "It's Your Birthday" — Luke Campbell
  • "In the Air Tonight" — Judith Hill cover produced by Isa Machine + Mark Isham

Episode 4 — "The Spider Web"

Courtesy of Hulu
  • "Don't Explain" — Etta James
  • "Waterfalls" — TLC
  • "Honey" — Mariah Carey
  • "I Walk on Guilded Splinters" — Dr. John (reprise from Episode 102)
  • "Come Baby Come" — K7
  • "Killing Me Softly With His Song" — Fugees
  • "Chilly Winds Don't Blow" — Maxine Weldon

Episode 5 — "Duo"

Courtesy of Hulu
  • "Fly Robin Fly" — Silver Convention
  • "Spin the Bottle" — The Juliana Hatfield Three
  • "Come to Mama" — Ann Peebles
  • "You Oughta Know" violin/score cover — Alanis Morissette
  • "Uninvited (from Little Fires Everywhere)" — BELLSAINT

Episode 6 — "The Uncanny"

Courtesy of Hulu
  • "Take Me with You" — Aretha Franklin
  • "It's Nasty (Genius of Love)" — Grandmaster Flash, The Furious Five, The Sugarhill Gang
  • "This Must Be the Place" — Talking Heads
  • "Broken Wings" — Mr. Mister
  • "What's Going On" — Marvin Gaye
  • "Cruisin'" — D'Angelo
  • "Fly Robbin Fly" — Silver Convention
  • “Just As I Am" — Luther Allison
  • "Tracks of My Tears" — Linda Ronstadt
  • "My Eyes Adored You" — Frankie Valli
  • "Piece of Clay" — Marvin Gaye
  • "Bitch (from Little Fires Everywhere)" — Ruby Amanfu

Episode 7 — "Picture Perfect"

Courtesy of Hulu
  • "Shine" — Collective Soul
  • "Only Happy When It Rains" — Garbage
  • "Ambitionz Az A Ridah" — 2Pac
  • "Pictures of You (from Little Fires Everywhere)" — Lauren Ruth Ward

Episode 8 — "Find a Way"

Courtesy of Hulu
  • "Here I Am (Come and Take Me)" — UB40
  • "Spirit in the Sky" — Norman Greenbaum
  • "Build It Up" — Ingrid Michaelson

This article was originally published on