12 Classics To Read If You're Obsessed With Fall

There is something about autumn that brings out the best in writers — and reads. It’s a season perfect for crafting exciting stories with gorgeous prose, and reading books that inspire you to be the best writer possible. If you're searching for some autumn literary inspiration, pick up one of these classic books perfect for fall reading.

Something about autumn always makes me want to pick up a great classic. The combination of going back to school, crisp, cool weather, and beautiful foliage seems like the perfect condition for reading a thick, well-written novel. Of course, creepy stories are great in the fall, but sometimes you just want to climb a tree and sit amidst the changing leaves, reading a tried and true classic.

In her book A Taste for Death, P.D. James sets the scene by saying that “it was one of those perfect English autumnal days which occur more frequently in memory than in life.” It’s probably true that perfect fall days are more figments of our imagination than reality, but that doesn’t stop me from enjoying them in books. Classics have no shortage of autumn, so if you’re looking for a perfect fall day, here are some to pick up — no matter the actual weather outside.

1. Dracula by Bram Stoker

If you love autumn for the chills that come with Halloween, Dracula is a must-read. This classic vampire tale is perfect for fans of fall, and fans of the infamous count.

Click here to buy.

2. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Mary Shelley first dreamed up Frankenstein while having a competition to see who could tell the best horror story — I think it's safe to say she won that round. This iconic creepy classic is perfect to read on a stormy autumn night.

Click here to buy.

3. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

If you love creepy literature, but sometimes get a little too caught up in it, Jane Austen's Northanger Abbey is the perfect pick to read this autumn. The novel's heroine Catherine loves Gothic literature, but she has trouble separating between fiction and reality. Same, Catherine. Same.

Click here to buy.

4. The Complete Tales And Poems by Edgar Allan Poe

Master of horror Edgar Allan Poe was a storyteller whose works were made to be read on a crisp autumn night. Plus, if you have limited time now that school's back in session, these short stories and poems are perfect if you want to read something short.

Click here to buy.

5. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Gothic literature is a must-read in autumn, and Brontë's Wuthering Heights is a staple of the genre. The dark tale of Heathcliff and Catherine will transport you to a world of creaking windows, old diaries, and wild moors.

Click here to buy.

6. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

This classic is always worth a reread, but as the climax is set during the fall, it's particularly fitting to read during the autumn months. Who could forget Scout's iconic ham Halloween costume?

Click here to buy.

7. The Call Of The Wild by Jack London

If what you love most about fall is spending time in the great outdoors enjoying nature, Jack London is for you. The Call of the Wild is meant to be read on a chilly night, preferably with a dog by your side.

Click here to buy.

8. The Legend Of Sleepy Hollow By Washington Irving

The story of Ichabod Crane and the haunted town of Sleepy Hollow is perfect to read aloud while sitting around a campfire on a cool autumn evening. Pair with a pumpkin spice latte to keep with the theme.

Click here to buy.

9. The Catcher In The Rye by J.D. Salinger

This classic always transports me to autumn. Protagonist Holden Caulfield feels plenty of angst, and who hasn't felt a little moody as the seasons change and summer ends?

Click here to buy.

10. The Picture Of Dorian Gray By Oscar Wilde

This creepy novel about a man and a mysterious portrait is a delightfully dark autumn read. If you love Gothic fiction, but you're looking for something shorter, this is the perfect pick for a cool fall night.

Click here to buy.

11. Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde By Robert Louis Stevenson

Speaking of shorter fiction, Robert Louis Stevenson's novella Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde is another dark story perfect for fans of Halloween. The tale of one man and his two personas is a classic that always deserves a reread in autumn.

Click here to buy.

12. Anne Of Green Gables By L.M. Montgomery

"I'm so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers," Anne Shirley says in this uplifting classic. If you prefer to enjoy golden autumn days without any hint of creepiness, this hilarious and sweet story is the classic for you — it's hard not to smile when reading about a character as spunky and awesome as Anne with an "e."

Click here to buy.

Image: Instagram/wordsandmisadventures (1)