CFDA Celebrates Fashionable Instagrammers

Tech-savy fashionistas, get excited — you can now place your vote for the CFDA's Fashion Instagrammer of the Year award! This is a brand new category that proves the Council has a keen eye on the future of social media and fashion.

The eight nominees include @donalddrawbertson, @dapperlou,@aguynamedpatrick, @paridust, @troprouge, @amy_stone, @hokaytokay, and @bessnyc4. Wondering why your daily outfit selfies didn't earn you a spot on the list? "The eight Instagrammers selected average around 40,000 followers, and for good reason — their work is pretty fabulous," according to Racked.

Nominees were selected by a panel of fashion insiders including Rachel Zoe, Stephanie Max of The Coveteur, Stefania Allen and Kate Davidson Hudson of The Editorialist, and Alexander Wang. The winner will have the honor of documenting the CFDA's annual award ceremony on the official CFDA Instagram account.

It's no secret that Instagram has become extremely influential in the fashion community.

"Instagram has become the platform for visual expression in fashion because it's quick, easy, accessible - it's always with you," said Kevin Systrom, Instagram co-founder. "It's enough of a category that the CFDA want to take that trend and maximise it in some way."

The platform pairs wonderfully with larger fashion forums such as blogs and magazines by delivering bite-sized inside looks at the glamorous lives of your favorite style stars, designers, models, and editors.

"Within at least the past six months, we've experienced the ever-growing influence of Instagram within fashion first hand," Steven Kolb, chief executive officer of the CFDA, told WWD. "Instagram has been a focal point for the industry as a whole and has quickly established itself as the go-to platform for fashion storytelling."

I think it's awesome that the CFDA is recognizing some of the great Instagram talent out there! To vote for your favorite, follow their account and like their images with the hashtag #MyCFDA. The winner will be announced on May 30th.

Images: paridust, donaldrawbertson/Instagram