Is The Zombie Frappuccino At Starbucks Vegan? People With Diet Restrictions Might Get A Treat This Halloween

Share

Halloween can be a real nightmare for those with dietary restrictions. Buckets of mini candy bars are packed with dairy products. But now those with conscious diets can rejoice and ~treat~ themselves. Starbucks's latest wicked beverage might have you hoping and wondering if the Zombie Frappuccino at Starbucks is vegan. Well, good news: There's no trick here. Starbucks baristas do not just conjure drinks from behind the counter like witches at the mouth of a cauldron. They can now add dream weaver to their job title.

As a woman who has dealt with sensitivities to dairy products and all the desserts it plays a part in her entire life, I have watched my fair share of cupcakes and donuts and limited edition creamy drinks pass by. Of course I wanted to partake in the comforting consumption of ice cream pints or milkshakes but would rather not deal with the doubled over stomach pain to follow. But maybe you're not allergic like me. Perhaps you're vegan because you want to support animals. And for that, you deserve a Zombie Frappuccino. Hear me out.  

If you haven't heard from the internet, or the heavy footed stomps outside your window, Starbucks has let the Zombie Frappuccino creep into stores across the U.S. and Canada. It's tart apple and caramel flavoring are far more appetizing than a zombie's preferred brain snack. And it's matched with a red mocha drizzle and a pink whipped cream to conjure a spooky concoction only a monster would like to gnaw on. While the menu item Frappuccino brings words like cream and dairy and stomach-aches and against-my-morals to mind, think again.

A vegan barista at a local Starbucks assures me that, "we can make it vegan because we have dairy-free milks like coconut milk, almond milk and soy milk. And all the other products in it are vegan." Additionally, the ingredients on Starbucks' website are absent from dairy, save for the milk which can be replaced by non-dairy options.

Starbucks

That's right: Even if you are adverse to milk, Starbucks is conscious of your choices but doesn't want you to miss out on the zombie noshing everyone will be doing these next few days. All you have to do is ask your friendly barista for a vegan option, and join the drooling hoards of humans turned temporary zombies exiting Starbucks stores everywhere in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico.

It is always important to note when it comes to serious allergens like egg and milk, that nothing can be 100 percent guaranteed to be 100 percent vegan unless concocted in a certified dairy-free kitchen. It's actually required by the FDA to list that any product produced in a kitchen that also processes allergens ~may contain~ those allergens. To iterate this, Starbucks has mentioned on their website under details for the Zombie Frappuccino that, "we cannot guarantee that any of our products are free from allergens (including dairy, eggs, soy, tree nuts, wheat and others) as we use shared equipment to store, prepare and serve them." Ordering the drink is completely up to you and what you're comfortable with. If you've transformed your dairy-based drink into a vegan delight before, go for it! There will surely be no ~actual~ brains or any ~other~ body part zombies favor present in this cup.

If you do decide to treat yourself with this wickedly tricked out Frappuccino, you'll only have a limited time to get your warm human hands on this cold caffeinated drink. It will lurk in Starbuck stores from Oct. 26 to Halloween night on Oct. 31. You don't have to miss out on slurping down this spooky drink!