What Halloween Candy Is Vegan? Here's What You Can Safely Enjoy This Year

Share

Every year, we make life changes — whether or not we realize it. And if you've decided to make a big dietary change this year, you might be wondering what Halloween candy is vegan. Sometimes, it's a little tough to tell.

Vegans are slightly different than standard vegetarians. While both stay away from meat (like beef, chicken, and pork) vegans also stay away from products created by animals. That means that eggs, milk, and butter are off the table. Since it's often a little tough to figure out how specific candies are made, new vegans might be a little curious as to what is safe and what needs to be donated to a friend or family member.

Now, a little bit of bad news. Vegans should probably stay away from chocolate fun-sized bars that many homes dish out. While chocolate itself in its pure form is vegan, it often gets processed a bunch while being formed into the Halloween goodies you love. Of course, companies have made chocolate candies that fit vegan restrictions, but let's face it — you probably won't see them if your or your child is going door-to-door. According to UrbanVegan, dark chocolate is the most vegan-friendly type. The least vegan-friendly is milk chocolate — but you probably could have guessed that thanks to the name itself.

That said, here are a few treats that are totally fine to enjoy.

Check out the entire 'What's Up, Boo?' series and other videos on Facebook and the Bustle app across Apple TV, Roku, and Amazon Fire TV.

1Sour Patch Kids

They're sweet, sour, and vegan. That's right — unlike a lot of gummy products, Sour Patch Kids don't contain gelatin, which is (unfortunately) made from parts of cows and pigs. Anything from the Sour Patch line should be good to go.

2Dum Dum Pops

Giphy

You'll likely see a fair share of Dum Dum Pops this Halloween — they're typically a staple. If you're currenly going vegan, feel free to keep enjoying them. According to Spangler, the company which makes them, they're also gluten free and kosher. Bonus.

3Jolly Ranchers

Giphy

These candies are popular for a reason — not only are they tasty, but they've got a lot of nostalgia behind them as well. They've got corn syrup and sugar in them, but nothing that comes from an animal. Both the tiny candies you love, as well as the lollipops, are considered to be safe.

4Dots

tootsierolltri on Instagram

If you're a vegan, feel free to partake in as many tiny boxes of Dots as you can get. (That is, if your doctors and dentist are cool with it.) According to PETA, they get the go-ahead. Not only do they not contain gelatin, but they also don't contain carmine color or confectioner's glaze — two other big ingredients that the organization wants vegans to keep an eye out for.

5Airheads

Giphy

Personally, these candies remind me of elementary school. And, they also remind me of the 1994 movie starring Brendan Fraser and Adam Sandler. But I digress. The point is, Airheads are surprisingly vegan, and a great choice for Halloween. And, uh — any other day, to be honest.

6Blow Pops

illgamma on YouTube

Dum Dums aren't the only lollipop to make the list — Charms Blow Pops, which include a chewing gum center, are also vegan. Just make sure you don't confuse them with Tootsie Roll pops — sadly, those don't make the list.

7Skittles

Giphy

Back in 2010, vegans everywhere celebrated when the popular candy stopped including gelatin in their production. That means that yes, Skittles can officially be enjoyed by vegan households and vegan trick-or-treaters this Halloween.

8Smarties

smarties on Instagram

If you're looking for a candy you can feel good about, you might want to stock up on Smarties. Their website claims that not only are Smarties vegan, but they're also safe to eat if you have a peanut allergy. Or most allergies. Because Smarties Candy Company cares.

9Twizzlers

You may live in a Twizzlers household, or a Red Vines household. But no matter what licorice you stand behind, just know that both of them are considered vegan. (You'll probably see Twizzlers more around Halloween, though.)