What Time Is The Halloween Asteroid Visible? Here Are All The Best Times To Spot It

Share

In addition to asking yourself the typical Halloween questions — do I need to dress up, do I want to dress up, should I be scary or sexy, will anyone think this is funny, can I just wear black lipstick and call it a night — you'll be asking yourself a new question this Halloween. That is, of course, what time is the Halloween asteroid coming to sprinkle space candy on our heads?

Yes, that's right — an asteroid will be joining us for a speed round of trick or treat. Discovered only two weeks ago, asteroid 2015 TB145 will be Halloween's best surprise guest yet. The asteroid itself poses no threat to Earthlings, since it will keep a safe distance of 310,000 miles. Its incredibly fast speed, however, will create a quick light show that will certainly pose a threat to Halloween, taking over this October 31 as BOSS.

As with all space shows, only certain parts of the world will get an unobstructed view. In the case of asteroid 2015 TB145, the Western Hemisphere will be the only part of the planet with seats. And, as with all space shows, visibility will hinge on a cloudless sky. So pray for a clear night, borrow a nerd's telescope, and enjoy the brief sight of a rock the size of the Empire State Building zoom past Earth for the ultimate October 31 guest star. These are the times to head outside and witness awesomeness.

October 30, Orion crossing

9:50 p.m., Pacific Time.

11:50 p.m., Central Time.

12:50 p.m., Eastern Time.

The night before Halloween, asteroid Spooky will be visible by telescope as it crosses over the constellation of Orion.

October 31, closest approach

8:14 p.m., Pacific Time.

10:14 p.m., Central Time.

11:14 p.m., Eastern Time.

On Saturday morning, the asteroid will make its closest approach to Earth. This will be the best time to catch a full glimpse.

Happy hauntings!