7 Books Like "Midnight, Texas" To Satisfy Your Craving For Supernatural Thrillers

NBC
Share

Hands up if you're totally obsessed with the show Midnight, Texas? Right, so that's everyone then. The supernatural series is only three episodes in, but we're all already totally hooked — which should come as no surprise really, considering the show is based on a series of books written by the same author who brought us Sookie Stackhouse and inspired True Blood. Woman knows how to write a good supernatural drama, that's for sure.

Waiting seven whole days for each new episode of Midnight, Texas has officially become the hardest part of my week — and I don't think I'm alone having this problem. That's why I've come up with this list of books for you to read while you're waiting for your weekly fix of excitement from the small town Midnight and its eclectic band of inhabitants. With one of these in your hand the days will fly by, and before you know it, it will be time to switch on the TV and watch Midnight, Texas again.

In these seven books you'll find vampires, witches, assassins, and every other type of magical misfit that we've grown to love in Midnight, Texas. So head on down to the bookstore, and stock up on a pile of these books all about strange outsiders and even stranger goings-on.

1Midnight, Texas trilogy by Charlaine Harris

If you're loving the Midnight, Texas TV show, chances are you're going to enjoy the book series that it's based on. To get started, pick up the first in the series, Midnight Crossroad, which introduces the creepy small town of Midnight.

Click here to buy.

2'No Hero' by Jonathan Wood

From Endeavour to Inspector Morse, the beautiful English city of Oxford has formed the backdrop to several British detective shows — but Jonathan Wood's novel No Hero is the first to bring in an alien villain from another dimension.

Click here to buy.

3'Rosemary and Rue' by Seanan McGuire

You've probably heard of Seanan McGuire for her uber-popular novella Every Heart a Doorway, but Midnight, Texas fans might find her October Daye series more up their alley. The first in the series is Rosemary and Rue, and it introduces Toby, the crime-solving, half-human half-fae protagonist.

Click here to buy.

4The Sabina Kane series by Jaye Wells

In Red-Headed Stepchild, the first of the Sabina Kane series, we are first introduced to Sabina Kane herself. Caught between the rival races of the vampires and mages, Sabina doesn't fit in anywhere — except with the assassins.

Click here to buy.

5'The Taken' by Vicki Pettersson

The Taken is a paranormal romance between journalist Kit and the angel sent from the afterlife to steal her soul. When Grif, the angel, shirks his heavenly duty and decides to protect Kit instead, the two of them embark on a quest to solve the mystery of his own murder.

Click here to buy.

6The Jane True series by Nicole Peeler

Jane True has never fit in in her small hometown in Maine — and that's because she's only half-human. Suddenly, she is introduced to a whole new world, one with gnomes, shapeshifters, and a rather gorgeous vampire...

Click here to buy.

7The Peter Grant series by Ben Aaronovitch

Hidden within the City of London Police is a secret department devoted entirely to investigating crimes involving magic — and Constable Peter Grant's ability to speak with the lingering dead makes him a pretty perfect candidate for the job. This light-hearted and adventurous novel follows Peter as he solves the mystery of a wave of bizarre murders throughout the city, caused by a supernatural world hidden beneath the rivers of London.

Click here to buy.