The 2017 CFDA Award Nominees Have Been Announced

by Alexa Tucker
Larry Busacca/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images

Every year, it seems like awards season begins with the Golden Globes and ends with the Oscars (with the Grammys, SAG Awards, and a few others sprinkled in between). But in addition to all of the music, film, and TV talents, major creative minds in the fashion industry deserve props, too. The 2017 CFDA Fashion Award nominees and honorees have been announced, and they remind us of how many amazing fashion moments we get to see every year.

The board of the CFDA (or the Council of Fashion Designers of America) got together to decide on the most influential players in the industry this past year, and it's safe to say the fashion elite will be turning out for the 16th annual ceremony. While some nominees are lesser-known, there are several CFDA Award mainstays on the ticket — namely, Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, Joseph Altuzarra, Marc Jacobs, Raf Simons... the list goes on.

In addition to the nominees, several designers have already been chosen to receive honors for their contributions to the industry. The first Swarovski Award for Positive Change, a new category that will honor designers who've had positive impacts on communities, will go to Kenneth Cole. Four-time CFDA Award winner Rick Owens will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, and The International Award will go to Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga. Franca Sozzani, the former editor-in-chief of Vogue Italia who passed away in December, will posthumously recieve the Fashion Icon Award. And, one I'm particularly jazzed about, The Founder's Award will go to beauty trailblazer and makeup artist Pat McGrath for her influence.

The CFDA Awards will also feature The Board of Directors’ Tribute, which will be presented to Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monae for their wok on women's causes and the roles they played in the Women's March in January. While this one's not directly tied to, say, clothes or accessories, female empowerment and fashion have gone hand-in-hand many times throughout history, so it's an important honor to include.

For the rest of the winners, we'll have to wait until the CFDA Fashion Awards take place in NYC on June 5. Here's the full list of nominees.

Womenswear Designer of the Year Award

  • Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra
  • Raf Simons for Calvin Klein
  • Marc Jacobs
  • Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
  • Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year Award

  • Raf Simons for Calvin Klein
  • Robert Geller
  • Thom Browne
  • Tim Coppens
  • Todd Snyder

Accessory Designer of the Year

  • Stuart Vevers for Coach
  • Irene Neuwirth
  • Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel
  • Paul Andrew
  • Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent

  • Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection
  • Gabriela Hearst, Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse
  • Virgil Abloh for Off-White
  • Sander Lak for Sies Marjan