This Is Your Love Language, According To Your Sign

by Laken Howard

When it comes to showing someone you care about them, there's no "right" way to do it: Everyone gives and receives love in different ways. If you haven't already, figuring out which love language you speak is one of the most effective ways to improve your love life — it's all about learning to better communicate your needs so both you and your partner feel more loved. And because our zodiac signs so often influence our personalities, it makes sense that the stars would also have a say in how we express our love.

"Our sign can influence which love language we speak because all the signs have specific, deeper need[s] for love," Craig Martin, astrologer, spiritual guide and owner of Sage of Stars, tells Bustle. "Those deeper needs are reflected in the way each sign communicates and experiences love. Different gestures, actions, and words are then interpreted by each sign in a different way. With each language, some signs see love, others not so much."

For the unfamiliar, the five "love languages" — quality time, words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, and physical touch — were coined by Dr. Gary Chapman in his book: The Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate. Essentially, they're a tool you can use to figure out how you and your partner can show each other love in the way that works best for you.

Here's a breakdown of which love language each zodiac sign is most likely to speak — and don't worry, it's OK if you don't fit the mold!

Check out Bustle's 'Save the Date' and other videos on Facebook and the Bustle app across Apple TV, Roku, and Amazon Fire TV.

Aries (March 21 - April 19): Quality Time

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

It doesn't matter what you do on a date with Aries — all this sign cares about is spending time with you.

"Aries is highly passionate and expressive with their partner; but this fire sign can also be hot-headed and impatient," Astrologer Valerie Mesa tells Bustle. "When they’re romantically interested in someone, they won’t want to leave their side."

Taurus (April 20 - May 20): Receiving Gifts And Physical Touch

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

Taurus might have a reputation for being stubborn, but this bull-headed sign has a softer side that loves snuggling up and enjoying the finer things, like a luxe new face mask their significant other gifted them.

"Taurus’ biggest thrill in life is experiencing the world through their five senses," Mesa says. "Ruled by the second house of income and possessions, this earth sign feels best when surrounded by luxury and beauty. Sensual and earthy, Taurus is a sucker for hugs and cuddles."

Gemini (May 21 - June 20): Words Of Affirmation

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

Gemini expresses love most easily through verbal communication, which makes sense for this super witty sign.

"If there’s anything Gemini is good at, it’s being clever and resourceful," Mesa says. "The people around them live for their hysterical wit and brilliant ideas. In a romantic context, Gemini wants communication and lots of mental stimulation."

Cancer (June 21 - July 22): Words Of Affirmation And Quality Time

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

It's not hard to show a Cancer you care: All you have to do is spend time with them, and be sure to tell them exactly how much they mean to you.

"Whether it’s from their partners or their loved ones, Cancer is constantly seeking emotional validation," Mesa says. "This water sign is nostalgic, receptive and incredibly sentimental. In love, Cancer will cherish every moment spent together and probably write down the first time they said 'I love you.'"

Leo (July 23 - Aug. 22): Receiving Gifts And Words Of Affirmation

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

If you want to sweep a Leo off their feet, don't be shy when it comes to showing your love: Leo likes to be showered in affection.

"Leo wants to be loved, needed, and admired," Mesa says. "It’s simple. They want to be worshiped. There's no such thing as showing a Leo too much love. Anything from diamonds to singing telegrams are welcome."

Virgo (Aug. 23 - Sept. 22): Acts Of Service

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

Virgo doesn't need a grand romantic gesture to feel loved; sometimes, all it takes is their partner offering to take out the trash.

"Virgo is practical and resourceful," Mesa says. "They’re devoted to serving others, and they secretly want to make the world a better place while critiquing the people around them."

Libra (Sept. 23 - Oct. 22): Receiving Gifts And Quality Time

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

Libra's idea of a perfect relationship? One in which their partner never stops showing their love and turning on the ~romantic charm~ even if they've been together forever.

"Libra feels best when they’re in a relationship," Mesa says. "Lovers of beauty and harmony, Libra loves to fall in love and feel loved in return. Their Venusian dreams consist of charming gifts and romance."

Scorpio (Oct. 23 - Nov. 21): Physical Touch

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

Scorpio is one of the most sexually charged signs, so physical touch is, naturally, their chosen outlet for expressing love.

"Mysterious and guarded, Scorpio isn’t one to verbally communicate what’s on their mind," Mesa says. "Instead they keep to themselves and strategically choose who to share their space and soul with; hence they normally look for loyal partners who are completely transparent and affectionate. This sign releases pent up emotions in the bedroom."

Sagittarius (Nov. 22 - Dec. 21): Words Of Affirmation And Quality Time

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

Although they love to hear how much they're cared about, the real way to a Sagittarius' heart is to spend time going on adventures with them.

"Sagittarius wants to live life to the fullest," Mesa says. "In their eyes, tomorrow is never promised. They say what’s on their mind and take risks to feel alive."

Capricorn (Dec. 22 - Jan. 19): Acts Of Service

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

The best way to prove your love to a Capricorn? Spend time doing acts of service that make their life easier, whether that's helping them study or organizing their shoe closet.

"For Capricorn, life is an investment," Mesa says. "They have no time to waste, and as selfish as it sounds, it’s a 'you scratch my back, I scratch yours' kind of deal for Capricorn. They’re ruthless and realistic."

Aquarius (Jan. 20 - Feb. 18): Acts Of Service

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

Aquarius isn't the most lovey-dovey of the signs, so their preferred love language tends to fall on the more practical, less mushy side.

"The sign of the collective and of the humanitarian, Aquarius is a social rebel and an intellectual," Mesa says. "This air sign wants to stand out and make a difference. In relationships, Aquarius is easily bored and detached."

Pisces (Feb. 19 - March 20): Physical Touch And Quality Time

Caroline Wurtzel/Bustle

Pisces crave love, and when they finally find the right person, they want to show and be shown love in the most intimate ways.

"Spiritual and sentimental, Pisces’ spend the majority of their lives searching for their soulmate," Mesa says. "When they fall in love, they merge mind, body, and soul."

Ultimately, it doesn't matter which love language you speak, or even if you and your partner have different love languages. As long as you're aware of how you express love and feel comfortable sharing that with your partner, the two of you can have an even more fulfilling, loving relationship. The best thing about love languages? If you put in the effort and really love your partner, you can learn to speak them all.