Kristian Wilson
Kristian Wilson is a freelance writer and editor from the rural American South. She writes. She reads. She plays video games. She also sleeps sometimes. Talk to her about blankets, ampersands, and the Oxford comma.
Latest Articles

America Ferrera Is Editing A Powerful Book Of Essays & She Scored Some All-Star Writers For It

There's great news for fans of Superstore and Ugly Betty. The Associated Press reports that America Ferrera will edit American Like Me: Reflections on Life Between Cultures, an anthology of cultural essays coming this fall from Simon & Schuster impri…
By Kristian Wilson

The New Stephen King Novel Is Coming To TV & It Sounds Creepy AF

Good news, Constant Readers! Stephen King's The Outsider is coming to TV as a limited series, which means we now have four King works in development for the small screen! 2017 was a banner year for the Master of Horror, but 2018 and 2019 are shaping …
By Kristian Wilson

The 5 Books To Read To Understand The Long, Painful History Of Detention Centers

It seems that all anyone can talk about these days are the detention centers housing immigrant children in the U.S., and for good reason. Children are being separated from their parents, indefinitely, as soon as they cross the border, regardless of w…
By Kristian Wilson

11 Book Series You Won't Be Able To Put Down Until You've Finished

Summer is upon us, which means we book nerds finally have time to read all those great series we have been meaning to get around to. On the list below, you'll find 11 newly finished book series you can marathon-read this summer, so if you're looking …
By Kristian Wilson

Barack Obama Shared The 5 Books He's Reading & You Can Get One For Free Right Now

It's always good to hear from President Obama, especially when he's got reading suggestions to share. Barack Obama recommended six books on Facebook on June 16, and they're perfect for anyone who wants to do some heavy reading this summer. You don't …
By Kristian Wilson

The One Book To Read By An Author You Hate, According To Reddit Users

If there's an author you just can't stand, but whom everyone else seems to love, Reddit might be able to help you see the light. Over at the Suggest Me a Book subreddit, redditors have suggested books to read by authors you hate, and I've got nine gr…
By Kristian Wilson

21 Tweets About Harry Potter Guaranteed To Make You Laugh

Potterheads may have a fickle relationship with the directions the Harry Potter franchise takes, but their love for J.K. Rowling's series of books and films never seems to die. The last few days have produced some truly excellent tweets about Harry P…
By Kristian Wilson

15 Books To Read If You're Single For The Summer

Spending your summer sexy, free, and single? I've got 15 books you should read if you're single this summer, because your unattached days are the perfect time to work on improving and entertaining yourself. If you're single this summer, let me be the…
By Kristian Wilson

9 Beachy Murder Mysteries To Take With You On Your Next Trip

Want to make your summer a little more exciting? Check out these nine beachy murder mysteries to read on your vacation, because there's nothing quite like making a cheery place like the seashore feel full of danger and dread. Unless you're into cozy …
By Kristian Wilson

George R. R. Martin Announced More 'GoT' Stories That Aren't 'Winds Of Winter'

George R. R. Martin is still hard at work on making The Winds of Winter a reality, but he's just provided an update that A Song of Ice and Fire fans will want to hear. There are Game of Thrones prequels in the works, but they're not new books. HBO is…
By Kristian Wilson

20 Books As Inspiring As A TEDTalk — According To The People Who Give Them

Want to spend your vacation working on self-improvement and -enrichment? There are 20 books TED speakers want you to read this summer, and I've got them all lined up for you to check out below. Founded in 1984 as a convention for those in the technol…
By Kristian Wilson

Anthony Bourdain Had His Own Book Imprint — But It's Set To End Following His Death

Since 2011, Anthony Bourdain Books has released nonfiction titles through HarperCollins imprint Ecco Books. Bourdain's imprint publishes "books by people with strong voices who are good at something and speak with authority," according to the HarperC…
By Kristian Wilson

9 Quotes From Anthony Bourdain's Books To Remember Him By

Chef and travel writer Anthony Bourdain died by suicide Friday morning, leaving the world a little less bright. As the author of a number of books, including Kitchen Confidential and Medium Raw, Bourdain left behind a wealthy collection of food and t…
By Kristian Wilson

3 Anthony Bourdain Books That Prove The Chef Was A Gifted Storyteller, Too

With Anthony Bourdain's death, the literary world has also lost one of its greatest storytellers. The 61-year-old chef was the author of many books, including works of fiction, travelogues, and graphic novels. If you've never read his work before, or…
By Kristian Wilson

15 Books To Read Before You Start Your New Job

If you've just graduated college and are about to begin your first hunt for a professional position, you might feel a bit like a fish out of water. All the rules your parents have taught you about resumes, cover letters, and job hunting in general mi…
By Kristian Wilson

21 Poems By Queer Writers You Can Read Right Now

June is the month to celebrate LGBTQIAP+ pride, so why not kick off your summer with some fantastic, themed reads? For the list below, I have collected 21 poems by queer poets for you to read this Pride month, so why not pick up an anthology or two t…
By Kristian Wilson

J.K. Rowling Is Planning Her First Kids' Book Since Harry Potter

Like any author of a bestselling children's book series, J.K. Rowling has a lot on her plate, collaborating with other writers to pen scripts for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them film series. Now, Pott…
By Kristian Wilson

Reading More Could Help Prevent Dementia, According To This New Study

A new study out of Hong Kong has found that books may ward off dementia in readers, which means you'll never have to feel guilty about buying more books than you can read, because — to paraphrase the words of every 21st-century pot smoker — they're m…
By Kristian Wilson

This Book Just Won Best Audiobook Of The Year & It's Narrated By Dozens Of Celebs

Every year, the Audie Awards honor the best audiobooks the English language has to offer. George Saunders' Lincoln in the Bardo has won the 2018 Audie Award for Audiobook of the Year. It's just one of 29 audiobooks to win the 30 Audie Awards handed o…
By Kristian Wilson

15 Books With Bi Main Characters To Read This Pride Month

June is finally upon us, which means it's Pride Month: time to celebrate everything about being LGBTQIAP+! Bisexual and biromantic people often get overlooked, both inside and outside the queer community, so I've picked out 15 books with bi heroes an…
By Kristian Wilson