Everything To Know About Taylor Swift’s Speak Now (Taylor’s Version)

Swift’s third re-recording will feature six new songs, including two collabs with nostalgic emo bands.

Originally Published: 
ATLANTA, GEORGIA - APRIL 28: FOR EDITORIAL USE ONLY. Taylor Swift performs onstage during The Eras T...
Terence Rushin/TAS23/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images

True to form, diligent fans picked up on the clues Taylor Swift dropped for them. Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) is officially on the way, just as Swifties began predicting in the year-plus since Red (Taylor’s Version) debuted in November 2021. The 12-time Grammy winner announced her upcoming re-release at her Nashville Eras Tour show on May 5, then teased afterward on social media that it would arrive soon, “just in time” for a significant day in Swift lore.

The now-33-year-old singer reflected on the original 2010 album in her written announcement. “I first made Speak Now, completely self-written, between the ages of 18 and 20,” she wrote. “The songs that came from this time in my life were marked by their brutal honesty, unfiltered diaristic confessions and wild wistfulness. I love this album because it tells a tale of growing up, flailing, flying and crashing … and living to speak about it.”

Announcing the re-recording, she wrote to fans, “I always looked at this album as my album, and the lump in my throat expands to a quivering voice as I say this. Thanks to you, dear reader, it finally will be.” The singer added, “I consider this music, along with your faith in me, the best thing that’s ever been mine,” and signed off, “Yours, Taylor.”

When is the album coming and what else do you need to know? Below are all the details about Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) so far.

When Is The Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) Release Date?

Swift’s announcement revealed that Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) is just two months away: Her updated album is due out on July 7, more than 12 years after the original was released on Oct. 25, 2010. “It fills me with such pride and joy to announce that my version of Speak Now will be out July 7,” Swift wrote, adding a cheeky “just in time for July 9th, iykyk,” alongside the grinning squinting face emoji.

Are There Any Collabs On Speak Now (Taylor’s Version)?

On the “Taylor’s Version” re-recordings of Fearless and Red, Swift invited some of her favorite artists and songwriters to collaborate with her on her previously unheard “From the Vault” tracks, and this album is no exception. Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) will feature two new collabs with Fall Out Boy and Hayley Williams of Paramore, her close friend and one of her Eras Tour opening acts.

“Since Speak Now was all about my songwriting, I decided to go to the artists who I feel influenced me most powerfully as a lyricist at that time and ask them to sing on the album,” Swift wrote on Twitter. “They’re so cool and generous for agreeing to support my version of Speak Now.”

What Is The Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) Tracklist?

Each “Taylor’s Version” album has come with several “From the Vault” tracks, a.k.a. songs that Swift wrote when she made the albums but later chose to leave off. The standard edition of Speak Now came with 14 tracks, and the deluxe edition had an additional three. Now Swift’s 2023 version will have “six extra songs … sprung loose from the vault,” as she put it in her announcement.

On June 5, Swift unveiled the Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) tracklist, including the names of her new “Vault” songs. The album will contain 22 tracks in total, with one of the former Speak Now deluxe bonus tracks, “If This Was A Movie,” being moved to Fearless (Taylor’s Version) instead. Read the entire Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) tracklist below.

  1. “Mine (Taylor’s Version)”
  2. “Sparks Fly (Taylor’s Version)”
  3. “Back to December (Taylor’s Version)”
  4. “Speak Now (Taylor’s Version)”
  5. “Dear John (Taylor’s Version)”
  6. “Mean (Taylor’s Version)”
  7. “The Story of Us (Taylor’s Version)”
  8. “Never Grow Up (Taylor’s Version)”
  9. “Enchanted (Taylor’s Version)”
  10. “Better Than Revenge (Taylor’s Version)”
  11. “Innocent (Taylor’s Version)”
  12. “Haunted (Taylor’s Version)”
  13. “Last Kiss (Taylor’s Version)”
  14. “Long Live (Taylor’s Version)”
  15. “Ours (Taylor’s Version)”
  16. “Superman (Taylor’s Version)”
  17. “Electric Touch (feat. Fall Out Boy) (Taylor’s Version) (From the Vault)”
  18. “When Emma Falls in Love (Taylor’s Version) (From the Vault)”
  19. “I Can See You (Taylor’s Version) (From the Vault)”
  20. “Castles Crumbling (feat. Hayley Williams) (Taylor’s Version) (From the Vault)”
  21. “Foolish One (Taylor’s Version) (From the Vault)”
  22. “Timeless (Taylor’s Version) (From the Vault)”

What Is The July 9 Reference In The Speak Now (Taylor’s Version) Announcement?

Though not her actual release date, July 9 got a shoutout from Swift. It fittingly comes from Speak Now lyrics: In the poignant track “Last Kiss,” she sings, “I do recall now the smell of the rain / Fresh on the pavement, I ran off the plane / That July 9th, the beat of your heart / It jumps through your shirt / I can still feel your arms.”

This article was originally published on