12 Books To Read If You Love 'Doctor Who'

Share

With the newest Doctor Who season just around the corner, I can't help but freak out every time I watch the trailer. The BBC sci-fi show that spans decades with multiple seasons is addicting and exciting. I definitely have a favorite Doctor (Ten) and companion (Rose), but have learned not to get too attached over time, naturally.

If there's one thing all Doctor Who fans have in common, it's the love for science fiction and time-traveling wrapped up all in one. It's also that we all secretly believe the Doctor exists and are just waiting for him to pick us up. Obviously. But since the seasons never last long enough, we Whovians are left to make up future theories of the show, and obsess over long-lost plot lines. To also fill the void, I'm of the mind that every fan should turn to books that are similar in themes of parallel universes and characters as destructive as Daleks that can fill in the time between show airings.

I've gathered a list of 12 (because there are 12 Doctors, of course) of the best sci-fi, fantasy, and classics that you'll absolutely love reading.

While we await the heartbreaking farewell of companion Clara Oswald and the exciting addition of Maisie Williams to the show, here are some books to keep you excited in the meantime:

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle

If you managed to miss this exciting time-traveling adventure as a kid, here's your chance. This is the story of Meg, an outcast girl and her little brother, Charles Wallace, who are desperate to find their missing father. But when their father is lost in space and time, things become a little more complicated. Since you already love strange characters and landing on new worlds in Doctor Who, you'll love A Wrinkle In Time .

Click Here To Buy

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

Right before Earth is demolished to make way for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent and Ford Perfect leave the planet behind and set out on a journey through space. With a helpful guidebook at their side, they meet some peculiar and amazing characters along the way. If you love the dry humor from Doctor Who, you'll be laughing hysterically throughout reading The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy .

Click Here To Buy

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Coraline is the eerie tale of a little girl who finds a mysterious door in her new, giant, but boring old house. Little does she know that the door will transport her to a parallel universe, with a new mother and father who want to love her, change her, and keep her forever. This book has always reminded me of the Doctor Who episode The Girl in the Fireplace in which there's an entirely different universe just on the other side of a wall, and to enter it only causes trouble.

Click Here To Buy

The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

If you're a big fan of the Eleventh Doctor and River Song's unfortunate but passionate love affair (because who isn't?) then you'll absolutely adore The Time Traveler's Wife . It's the story of two lovers, Henry DeTamble and Clare Abshire, who spend their lives searching for each other through time as one time travels and the lives chronologically. This is an epic love story you'll fall head over heels for.

Click Here To Buy

The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde

The tale of a man who's wish came true: to be young forever while his portrait was the one who aged. Similarly to when every Doctor on Who reaches his end, Dorian Grey does unthinkable things to stick around for as long as possible. This imaginative classic will forever be a favorite of mine, and I think anyone who loves a good moral tale with a touch of sci-fi will adore this book.

Click Here To Buy

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

This new YA series is about to become one of your all time favorites because there are endless parallel universes to jump through and infinite versions of you. With the help of the Firebird, a device Marguerite Caine's parent's invented which allows people to travel to multiple universes, Marguerite risks it all to track down her father's murderer and kill him herself. This book will have you hooked with all of the science fiction elements and twisted love stories you love from Doctor Who.

Click Here To Buy

Pivot Point by Kasie West

If you were completely devastated and still convince yourself that there is a way for Rose and the Tenth Doctor to be together forever, then you need to read Pivot Point . Addison Coleman, a clairvoyant girl, can look into her future when faced with a difficult decision and see the results of separate choices. And when her parents decide to divorce and ask her to choose who to live with, she faces two choices with neither outcomes desirable. This book will keep you on your toes and constantly wondering, What if?

Click Here To Buy

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Yes it's a children's book, and yes, it's more fantasy than sci-fi. However, Alice's trip down the rabbit hole and into Wonderland is hypnotizing and exciting enough to reread hundreds of times. While you crave more Doctor Who, the crazy characters and exotic world of Wonderland will fulfill your adventurous soul.

Click Here To Buy

The Lunar Chronicals Series by Marissa Meyer

In a world where humans an androids coexist in the crowded city of New Bejing, this series of fairytale retellings is one of the best I've ever read. This action packed series starts off strong with Cinder , baed on a cyborg girl whose twisted life gets tangled with the Prince's, and suddenly Earth's fate is now on her shoulders. As an added bonus, if you loved K-9 from Doctor Who, then you'll also love Iko, Cinder's android.

Click Here To Buy

Gulliver's Travels by Johnathan Swift

Although this classic was published back in 1726, it's satirical and adventurous story lines are still relevant today. Told in four parts as the historical memoirs of Lemuel Gulliver, you'll go on a journey to undiscovered countries full of fantastical creatures. It's basically a more "down to earth" version of Doctor Who, and for any fans of Classic Who, this is the book for you.

Click Here To Buy

All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

You're probably a fan of complex and unexplainable happenings if you love Doctor Who, so you'll more than likely love reading All Our Yesterdays . Told in the present and the future through parallel universes, Em and Finn try their best to stop their beloved friend James from creating a time-traveling machine that will ultimately kill him. Meanwhile, their past selves are also up to something that could change the future. Sound complicated? Don't worry, Terrill's writing and explanations will hook you into this extravagant book right away.

Click Here To Buy

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood

Margaret Attwood gave us this feminist futuristic story everyone should read again and again. Set in a dystopian world where women's bodies are used as birth vessels and the government controls personal lives, it's a recipe for disaster. You'll especially love it if you were hooked on the complicated and terrifying plot line of Amy, Rory, and the Eleventh Doctor in Season 6 of Doctor Who.

Click Here To Buy

Images: giphy (1); © BBC WORLDWIDE LIMITED