Everything To Know About Miley Cyrus’ Endless Summer Vacation Album

On March 3, she revealed she would return to Disney for new Backyard Sessions performances.

Originally Published: 
Miley Cyrus' 'Endless Summer Vacation' Album: Tracklist, Release Date & Everything To Know
Columbia Records

Miley Cyrus is throwing another “Party In the U.S.A.,” and we’re all invited. On Jan. 5, the singer announced her eighth studio album Endless Summer Vacation, which is being described as a “love letter” to her adopted home of Los Angeles. The new record comes more than two years after she released Plastic Hearts in 2020, signaling a fresh yet nostalgic pop-rock direction for the Grammy nominee.

Cyrus released the album’s lead single “Flowers” on Jan. 13, with the release date aligning with a notable ex in Cyrus’ life. “Flowers” took off immediately, with fans pointing out references to her relationship with ex-husband Liam Hemsworth and crafting many wild theories based on the striking video. But the song’s staying power goes much beyond her ex. On Feb. 27, the same day she revealed the album’s tracklist, “Flowers” spent its sixth week at No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100. The self-love anthem also became the most-streamed song in a single week in Spotify history.

Here’s everything you need to know about Cyrus’ new album.

Endless Summer Vacation Tracklist

On Feb. 27, Cyrus revealed the Endless Summer Vacation tracklist with a video of new footage from her album photoshoot — and potentially a new music video, if the snippet playing in the background is any indication. Twelve new songs will join “Flowers” on the album, including the demo of her No. 1 hit and collabs with Brandi Carlile and Sia, both of whom sang with Cyrus on her Miley’s New Years Eve Party specials. On the producers’ side, Cyrus will reunite with her Bangerz collaborator Mike Will Made-It, with additional production from Kid Harpoon, Greg Kurstin, and Tyler Johnson.

The Endless Summer Vacation tracklist is as follows:

  1. “Flowers”
  2. “Jaded”
  3. “Rose Colored Lenses”
  4. “Thousand Miles” (feat. Brandi Carlile)
  5. “You”
  6. “Handstand”
  7. “River”
  8. “Violet Chemistry”
  9. “Muddy Feet” (feat. Sia)
  10. “Wildcard”
  11. “Island”
  12. “Wonder Woman”
  13. “Flowers” (Demo)

Endless Summer Vacation Release Date

Endless Summer Vacation will be released on Friday, March 10. The singer also unveiled the album cover, a striking photo of her suspended in mid-air hanging onto an acrobats’ bar. According to a press release, the stunt was fully executed by Cyrus for the cover without using any visual effects.

The album is available to pre-order and pre-save on all music platforms, with exclusive vinyls available on Cyrus’ online store.

Backyard Sessions Special On Disney+

On March 3, Cyrus announced that she would be reuniting with Disney for a new edition of her beloved “Backyard Sessions” performances. Endless Summer Vacation (Backyard Sessions) will start streaming on Disney+ on March 10 at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT, just hours after the album’s release. But rather than perform in her own backyard like in previous videos, Cyrus shot this special at the same house where she filmed the “Flowers” video (and where Frank Sinatra once lived).

In the concert special, Cyrus will perform “Flowers” and several new songs from Endless Summer Vacation live for the first time, as well as “one of her classic hits,” according to a press release. She’ll also be teaming up with Rufus Wainwright for a “special performance.” This special marks Cyrus’ first time working with Disney in 12 years, since Hannah Montana ended in 2011, which the company celebrated in their Twitter announcement by writing, “Welcome home.”

Endless Summer Vacation Trailer

Along with the release date announcement, Cyrus unveiled a trailer for the album, which features her reciting mysteriously vague dialogue as several visual nods to Los Angeles are shown, including palm trees and close-ups of her getting out of a swimming pool.

“We met each other on the neon dingy, past the manta rays and palm trees,” she says in a voiceover. “Glowing creatures beam down from great heights. Electric eels in red venom. In the sky, we can see the riders on horseback, on comets, coming toward us, kicking up with laughter. My friend Big Twitchy rode the boat into the light, surfed the North Break. We danced until there was nothing left. Just me and Twitchy, ’cause that’s all we knew.”

What Is Endless Summer Vacation About?

Recorded in Los Angeles, Cyrus described Endless Summer Vacation as her “love letter to LA” in a press release, which also boasts how the album is a representation of her growth in the past year. “The music and imagery of Endless Summer Vacation serving as a reflection of the strength she’s found in focusing on both her physical and mental well-being,” it reads. However, fans suspect that the album’s lead single “Flowers” is actually about her 2019 split from ex-husband Liam Hemsworth for a multitude of reasons.

“Flowers” was released on Jan. 13, seemingly as a job to Hemsworth on his birthday. The songs lyrics include, “I can buy myself flowers / I can hold my own hand / I can take myself dancing / I can love me better than you can,” makeing it clear that the song is a full-fledged breakup anthem meant for self-love and empowerment.

This article was originally published on