Audiobooks May Make You More Emotional Than Movies, According To A New Study — & Here's Why

A new study has shown that audiobooks are better than movies and TV shows at eliciting emotional responses to key narrative moments. This won't surprise book readers at all, of course. We've been telling y'all for years that the books are better. Re…
By Kristian Wilson

15 Books To Read After A Breakup, According To People On Reddit

Suggest Me a Book is at it again! The subreddit for all your reading recommendation needs has curated a great list of books to read after a breakup, and I've got 15 of the redditors' best suggestions for you to take a look at below. It all started on…
By Kristian Wilson

The New Book To Read, Based On Your Favorite Shakespeare Play

To be perfectly frank, I am a Shakespeare nerd. This isn't entirely my fault: both of my parents are Shakespearean actors, and I spent a great deal of my childhood listening to iambic pentameter over backstage speakers. Being a Shakespeare nerd, thou…
By Charlotte Ahlin

This 18th Century Author Underwent A Mastectomy Without Anesthesia — & Wrote About It

If you've ever wondered what surgery was like before modern medicine allowed patients to be asleep during procedures, I've got just the story for you. Fanny Burney wrote a letter you're going to want to read, and the 18th century author's account of …
By Kristian Wilson

This YA Fantasy Is About Scientists Living In A Foreign World — And You Can Start Reading Now

A Conspiracy of Stars just appeared on bookshelves in January, but Olivia A. Cole's new book, An Anatomy of Beasts, is already well on its way to a bookstore near you. Bustle has the exclusive on both the cover and the first chapter of An Anatomy of …
By Kristian Wilson

10 Books About Astrology To Explain What "Mercury In Retrograde" Actually Means

OK, you've probably heard the phrase "Mercury in retrograde" tossed around more than a few times, but are you dying to know what that actually means? And what it means specifically for you. If you're curious about astrology, the best place to start i…
By Melissa Ragsdale

Everything You Know About 'The Age Of Heroes' In 'Game Of Thrones' Is Probably Wrong

So HBO seems to be making good on their threat to create a Game of Thrones prequel for television. The pilot will be written by Jane Goldman and co-created by Maester George R.R. Martin himself. And, as much as I am a die-hard book nerd who is still …
By Charlotte Ahlin

How Lisa Frank Capitalized On "Girl Power" & Diluted A Feminist Movement

You probably already know that '90s culture has been making comeback in a big way for the last few years: Crystal Pepsi was briefly re-released in summer 2016; Full House was rebooted by Netflix and people inexplicably began wearing scrunchies again;…
By Cristina Arreola

3 YA Writers Tell Us Why They Wrote Books With Asexual Protagonists

As soon as the calendar pages swish to June, it feels like a collective voice erupts, shouting, "It's PRIDE, baby!" For those who identify as the "A" of the LGBTQA spectrum — A for "asexual" and "aromantic" — there is an extreme lack of visibility th…
By Maddy Foley

13 Romance Novels That Need To Be Turned Into Movies ASAP

As a self-professed bibliophile, it is the rare genre I will not even consider reading. But I have to admit that the romantic comedy is like the butter to my bread, the peanut butter to my jelly, the sugar to my coffee. I'm saying I really like a goo…
By Kerri Jarema

I Thought Travel Writing Wasn't Meant For Me — Until I Read One Book Of Black Stories

When I quit my job to travel the world full time, I stuffed my dog-eared paperback of Go Girl! The Black Woman’s Book of Travel and Adventure in my 75-liter backpack. After all, it was the catalyst for me dumping my Manhattan newspaper job for Latin …
By Monica Williams

This Goodreads Tip For Finishing More Books Is Actually Remarkably Simple

We're halfway through 2018, do you know how many books you've read? If you're a devotee of the yearly reading challenge, you're probably hyper-aware of how many more books you've got to get through to reach your goals. I know I am. And although I am …
By Kerri Jarema

America Ferrera Is Editing A Powerful Book Of Essays & She Scored Some All-Star Writers For It

There's great news for fans of Superstore and Ugly Betty. The Associated Press reports that America Ferrera will edit American Like Me: Reflections on Life Between Cultures, an anthology of cultural essays coming this fall from Simon & Schuster impri…
By Kristian Wilson

Why Are We All So Obsessed With Joan Didion?

She’s a writer who’s been called the ‘ultimate literary celebrity’ and ‘fashion’s favorite icon’; she’s one of the most influential essayists of her generation; she's a literary legend; she's woman who embodies that classic, old school definition of …
By E. Ce Miller

This Super Popular YA Rom-Com Is Coming To Netflix & You NEED To See The Trailer

If you've ever had an all-consuming crush in high school, you'll remember that sometimes the scariest part of it all was the crush actually finding out how you felt. But that's exactly what happens to Lara Jean Song, the heroine of Jenny Han's belove…
By Kerri Jarema

This Feminist Icon May Have Partially Inspired 'The Wizard Of Oz'

Of all the early American feminists, few were fiercer than Matilda Joslyn Gage. She was a co-founder of the National Woman Suffrage Association, a radical abolitionist who ran a station on the Underground Railroad, and an outspoken advocate for Nativ…
By Charlotte Ahlin

11 New Books Set In Cali To Inspire Your West Coast Getaway

Ah, sunny California. Whenever I think of summer — or a great summer read — I can't help but imagine the swaying palm trees, sandy beaches, and blue skies of Cali. So when I make up my list of summer reads at the beginning of the season, I always mak…
By Kerri Jarema

This 106-Page Book About Immigrant Children Should Be Mandatory Reading For Every American

The national spotlight has turned on the sickening reality that an estimated 65 children are being separated each day from their parents under the Trump administration's family separation policy. (Previous estimates put the number at an estimated 2,0…
By Melissa Ragsdale

11 Classic '90s Movies You Didn't Know Were Based On Books — From 'Aladdin' To 'Jumanji'

Ah, the '90s. An era when "What if there was a kid left home alone?" and "It's Hamlet, but with lions," were perfectly acceptable premises for feature films. If you grew up in the 90's, you definitely remember some of the wonderful and weird kids' mo…
By Charlotte Ahlin

The New Stephen King Novel Is Coming To TV & It Sounds Creepy AF

Good news, Constant Readers! Stephen King's The Outsider is coming to TV as a limited series, which means we now have four King works in development for the small screen! 2017 was a banner year for the Master of Horror, but 2018 and 2019 are shaping …
By Kristian Wilson